Team news: Carr and Marks to debut for Wee County

May 19, 2017

Louth's Kevin Carr and Colm Basquel of Dublin.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Kevin Carr and Darren Marks will both make their championship debuts for Louth in Sunday's Leinster SFC first round encounter with Wicklow at Parnell Park.

Newtown Blues clubman Carr has been chosen at left corner-back and Darren Marks, who plies his trade with Cooley Kickhams, at right half-back as manager Colin Kelly selects his side for their provincial championship opener.

Declan Byrne and team-captain Adrian Reid have been omitted from the starting 15 while Eoin O'Connor is preferred over Jim McEneaney at full-forward.

The Wee County suffered a double blow since their Division 3 league final defeat to Tipperary following the news of Derek Maguire's departure to the US for the summer while Andy McDonnell underwent knee surgery recently.

Louth (Leinster SFC v Wicklow): Craig Lynch; Padraig Rath, Patrick Reilly, Kevin Carr; Darren Marks, John Bingham, Anthony Williams; James Stewart, Tommy Durnin; Conal McKeever, Pauric Smith, Bevan Duffy; Ruairi Moore, Eoin O'Connor, Ryan Burns.

Most Read Stories