Connacht club IHC final replay: Mannion's the man

November 14, 2016

Ahascragh-Fohenagh and Galway's Cathal Mannion.
©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Ahascragh-Fohenagh (Galway) 2-20

Ballyhaunis (Mayo) 0-13

Galway hurling star Cathal Mannion scored 2-11 as Ahascragh-Fohenagh claimed a first ever provincial title following a comprehensive replay victory over Ballyhaunis in Athleague.

Both of his goals came in the last 10 minutes after the Galway champions had led by 0-9 to 0-7 at the interval after playing against the wind. The 2015 All Star's brother Padraig also impressed in a sweeper role as the Mayo senior kingpins were eventually overpowered.

Dual star Keith Higgins was accurate from frees, while Adrian Phillips was on target from play as Ballyhaunis gave as good as they got in the opening period. They remained in contention until Mannion's first goal in the 50th minute gave the winners an eight-point advantage, 1-16 to 0-11.

Mannion struck again four minutes later to put the icing on the cake.

Ahascragh-Fohenagh - D Kelly; B Kilroy, J Kelly, P Gavin; JP Egan, P Mannion, J Finnerty (0-1); S Kelly (0-1), L Tully (0-1); S Conneely, R Kelly (0-2), E Delaney (0-1); C Mannion (2-11, 0-4f, 0-1'65), S Smyth (0-2), F Donnellan (0-1). Subs: D Smyth for JP Egan, L Cosgrave for R Kelly, P Birch for S Smyth, C Delaney for E Delaney.

Ballyhaunis - D O'Brien; A Brennan, P Healy, B Hunt; K Kiely, D Keadin, F Lyons; A Lyons (0-1), E Collins; A Phillips (0-2), K Higgins (0-8, 6f, 1'65), K McDermott (0-1); P Higgins, S Hoban, P Kiely (0-1). Subs: J Coyne for A Lyons, J Lyons for P Kiely, T Buckley for K McDermott, M Phillips for F Lyons, L Cribben for P Higgins.

Referee - F Horgan.

Most Read Stories