Mayo SHC final replay: Higgins the Ballyhaunis hero

October 30, 2016

Mayo's Keith Higgins pulls off a block against Armagh.
©INPHO/Tom Beary.

Ballyhaunis 2-13

Tooreen 1-13

Keith Higgins scored 1-9 as Ballyhaunis completed a three-in-a-row of Mayo SHC successes with a dramatic victory over Tooreen in Ballyhaunis.

The dual star rattled the net with 10 minutes remaining before adding three points from play to decide the outcome. A David Harrison goal early in the second half had propelled Tooreen into a 1-12 to 1-9 lead, but Higgins was a man possessed in the final quarter.

Respective free-takers Higgins and Kenny Feeney scored 0-4 each in the first half as the hosts took a 1-7 to 0-8 lead into the break thanks to Stephen Hunt's 14th minute goal. Tooreen gained the upperhand after the restart, but Higgins' late heroics ensured the TJ Tyrrell Cup would be staying in Ballyhaunis for another year.

Ballyhaunis - D O'Brien; A Brennan, A Lyons, B Hunt; K Kiely, D Keadin, F Lyons; K Higgins (1-9, 0-5f), E Collins; A Phillips (0-2), K McDermott (0-2), P Kiely; P Higgins, T Buckley, S Hoban (1-0). Subs: J Lyons for T Buckley, J Coyne for P Kiely, L Cribben for A Phillips.

Tooreen - D Freyne; D Huane, S Morley, A Henry; G Nolan (0-2), S Lenehan, J Freyne; C Freeman, D Kenny (0-1); F Boland (0-2), D Harrison (1-0), S Boland; K Feeney (0-5f), S Regan (0-2), S Kenny (0-1). Subs: K Charlton for J Freyne, J Henry for D Harrison, S Hunt for S Kenny.

Referee - C Collins.

Most Read Stories