Mayo SHC final: Higgins thwarts Tooreen

October 24, 2016

Tooreen and Mayo's Kenny Feeney.
©INPHO/Tom Beary.

Tooreen 1-15
Ballyhaunis 2-12

Dual star Keith Higgins rescued a share of the Mayo SHC final spoils for Ballyhaunis when sending over the last five points of the game to deny Tooreen.

The holders exhaled a sigh of relief after Higgins got them back on level terms in the fourth minute of stoppage time.

Ballyhaunis corner-forward Stephen Hoban netted the game's opening goal but they trailed by 1-4 to 0-8 at the change of ends.

Sean Regan found the back of the Ballyhaunis net in the 39th minute but his effort was cancelled out by Ballyhaunis substitute Tadhg Buckley.

Tooreen appeared to have one hand on the cup entering the closing stages but Higgins subsequently seized control of proceedings and the two sides will have to do it all over again in Ballyhaunis next Sunday (1pm).

Tooreen - D Freyne; D Huane, S Morley, A Henry; G Nolan, S Lenehan, J Freyne; C Freeman (0-1), D Kenny (0-1); F Boland (0-1), C Charlton, S Boland (0-1); K Feeney (0-10, 8f, 1'65), S Regan (1-1), J Henry. Subs: S Kenny for J Henry, S Hunt for S Boland.

Ballyhaunis - D O'Brien; A Brennan, P Healy, A Lyons; K Kiely, D Keadin, F Lyons; K McDermott, B Hunt (0-3f); K Higgins (0-6, 4f, 1'65), E Collins, A Phillips (0-1); P Higgins, P Kiely, S Hoban (1-2). Subs: J Lyons for K McDermott, T Buckley (1-0) for P Higgins, J Cribben for A Lyons, J Coyne for A Phillips.

Referee - C Collins.

Most Read Stories