Derry SFC final: Slaughtneil ease to 'treble treble'

October 17, 2016

Slaughtneil celebrate.

Slaughtneil 2-11

Loup 0-6

Slaughtneil became only the third club to complete a three-in-a-row of Derry SFC titles when they cruised to victory over Loup at Celtic Park.

Before a crowd of 4,374, goals from Shane and Se McGuigan in either half saw the Emmet's successfully retain their senior football, hurling and camogie crowns. Loup, who were appearing in their first final in seven years, were undermined by a a tally of 11 wides as Slaughtneil controlled the game from the moment Shane McGuigan punched home in the 11th minute.

That goal propelled the winners into a 1-2 to 0-1 lead and they went on to lead by six points at the break. It was all over bar the shouting when Cormac O'Doherty and the excellent Padraig Cassidy combined to set up Se McGuigan for the second goal which left the holders perched on a 2-8 to 0-5 lead entering the final quarter.

Slaughtneil - A McMullan; F McEldowney, B Rogers, K McKaigue (0-1); P McNeill, C McKaigue (0-1), K Feeney; Patsy Bradley (0-1), P Cassidy; Shane McGuigan (1-1), Paul Bradley (0-6, 5f), M McGrath; C Bradley (0-1'45), Se McGuigan (1-0), C O'Doherty. Subs: P Kelly for C O'Doherty, P McGuigan for Patsy Bradley, B McGuigan for C Keeney, R Bradley for C Bradley, P Kearney for P Kelly (BC).

Loup - T Mallon; C McVey, D McVey, C McGinley; P Coney, T McVey, J Rocks; T O'Brien (0-1f), A McAlynn; A O'Neill (0-3f), P McVey (0-1), B Doyle; C Devlin, P Young, D McVey. Subs: G Mallon (0-1) for B Doyle, C Devlin for A O'Neill, G Doyle for P McVey.

Referee - B Quinn.

Most Read Stories