Wexford SFC final: Gusserane end '41 years of frustration'

October 09, 2016

Gusserane O'Rahilly's Graeme Cullen.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Gusserane O'Rahilly's conjured up a strong finish to capture Wexford SFC honours for the first time in 41 years with victory over Glynn-Barntown at Innovate Wexford Park today.

Six points without reply saw the winners come from behind to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat on a scoreline of 0-11 to 0-10.

The smart money would have been on Glynn-Barntown triumphing for the first time in 20 years when they led by 0-10 to 0-5 with 12 minutes left on the clock but the Graeme Cullen captained outfit timed their run to perfection.

Gusserane O'Rahilly's - M Ryan; T Somers, L Dillon, J O'Connor; A Redmond, K Cahill, J Burford (0-3, 2f, 1'45); J Roche, A Flynn (0-1); P Conway, G Cullen, M O'Neill; J Cooney, S Cullen (0-4, 3f), S Ryan (0-1). Subs: C Kehoe (0-1) for J O'Connor; M Rossiter (0-1) for J Cooney; P Wallace for J Roche.

Glynn-Barntown - L Rafter; S Lyne, R Tierney, P Donnelly; N Usher, J Leacy, J Stafford (0-1); M Doyle, B Doyle; C Doyle, M Fanning (0-4), A Cowman; B Doyle, M O'Regan (0-4, 3f, 1'45), R Dempsey (0-1). Sub: R Crosbie for B Doyle.

Referee - A Tobin.

Most Read Stories