Dublin SFC: All-Ireland champions dethroned by Crokes

October 08, 2016

Kilmacud Crokes club mates Paul Mannion and Cian O'Sullivan celebrate Dublin's All-Ireland final replay victory over Mayo.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Ballyboden St. Enda's reign as county, provincial and All-Ireland club football champions is over after Kilmacud Crokes scored eight unanswered points in the final 20 minutes to power to a 1-14 to 0-9 victory in their Dublin SFC last 16 clash at Parnell Park this evening.

Paul Mannion, who helped Dublin retain the Sam Maguire seven days ago, scored the only goal five minutes before the break while former county star Mark Vaughan converted eight frees as the 2010 champions progressed to the quarter-finals. 

Mannion's major gave Crokes the slenderest of leads - 1-4 to 0-6 - at the interval, but 'Boden rallied with points from Conal Keaney and Barra McGarry to level proceedings at 0-9 to 1-6 11 minutes into the second half.

However, the champions wouldn't score again as unanswered points from Cillian O'Shea, Vaughan (four), Mannion, Andy McGowan and Aidan Jones sealed a comfortable win for the Glenalbyn outfit.

The defeat for 'Boden means Andy McEntee is now free to concentrate on his new role as Meath manager.

Crokes join Lucan Sarsfields and St. Jude's in the last eight after they accounted for Ballinteer St. John's and Clontarf respectively.

St Judes' Kevin McManamon.
©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Brendan Gallagher scored 1-5 and Rory Kelly 2-0 as Lucan put Ballinteer to the sword on a 3-17 to 1-10 scoreline at Kiltipper Road last night. The winners had held a 2-6 to 0-6 advantage at the break.

At Parnell Park this afternoon, Brian Forde netted in the first half as St. Jude's ran out facile 1-15 to 1-3 winners over Jack McCaffrey's Clontarf. Kevin McManamon chipped in with 0-2 for the southsiders.

Most Read Stories