Munster SHL round-up: wins for Banner and Rebels

January 13, 2016

Cork's Damien Cahalane and Mikey Kearney of Waterford

Clare and Cork claimed victories tonight in Round Three of the Munster senior hurling league.

The Banner County proved far too strong for Kerry at Sixmilebridge as they cantered to a facile 2-27 to 0-8 victory.

Peter Duggan's 18th-minute major propelled the victors into a commanding 1-10 to no score advantage and the Clooney-Quin clubman registered his second three-pointer three mnutes from the end as Ciaran Carey's charges were put to the sword.

At Mallow, meanwhile, second-half goals from Pa Cronin and William Leahy helped Cork to a 2-18 to 0-13 victory over Waterford. It was nip and tuck all the way before Kieran Kingston's men finished impressively.

Clare - A Fahey; E O'Brien, P O'Connor, P Flanagan; J Browne, C Dillon (0-1), P Donnellan; G O'Connell (0-2), D Reidy (0-2); P Duggan (2-2), J Conlon (0-3), Colin Ryan (0-8, 7f); C O'Donnell (0-2), D Honan (0-1), C O'Connell (0-3, 1f). Subs: C Cleary for P Donnellan, M O'Malley (0-1) for C O'Donnell, D Keane (0-1) for D Honan, D Conroy (0-1) for Colin Ryan, K Hehir for D Reidy.

Kerry - A McCabe; S Weir, B Murphy, D Fitzell; B Brosnan, D Collins, J Diggins; K Carmody, M Milner; C Harty (0-3, 2f), B O'Leary (0-1), S Nolan; M Boyle (0-1), M O'Leary, J Conway (0-2, 1f). Subs: P O'Connor for M Milner, J Buckley (0-1) for B Brosnan, S Maunsell for S Nolan, G Stackpoole for S Weir.

Referee - J Larkin.


Cork - P Collins; S Murphy, M Ellis, C Buckley; P O'Mahony, B Moylan, W Egan; C Murphy, D Cahalane; P Cronin (1-8, 0-6f, 0-1'65), B Cooper (0-1), D Brosnan (0-1); P O'Rourke (0-1), L O'Farrell (0-3), S Moylan (0-1). Subs: P O'Sullivan for C Buckley, W Leahy (1-1) for L O'Farrell, S Harnedy (0-2) for D Brosnan.

Waterford - I O'Regan; C Gleeson, S Roche, K Bennett; P Prendergast, S McNulty, G O'Brien; C Dunford, Shane Bennett (0-6, 4f, 1'65); T Waring (0-2), S O'Sullivan (0-1), C Guiry; T Ryan (0-2), C Roche, M Kearney (0-1). Subs: F McGrath for G O'Brien, A Molumby (0-1) for C Dunford, S Keating for C Guiry, S Ryan for P Prendergast, H Barnes for Shane Bennett.

Referee - D O'Driscoll.

Most Read Stories