Colleges excluded from Munster pre-season competitions

December 04, 2015

Waterford's Tadhg O Huallacháin and Gavin Nugent celebrate Waterford's McGrath Cup final win over UCC.
©INPHO/Ken Sutton.

Next month's McGrath Cup and Munster Senior Hurling League competitions will be confined to inter-county teams only.

It was agreed by the Munster Council last night to exclude college teams from the pre-season tournaments. All six Munster counties will participate in the McGrath Cup, while all counties bar Tipperary will participate in the new Munster Senior Hurling League, which replaces the Waterford Crystal Cup.

The McGrath Cup will be organised in two groups of three counties with Kerry and Cork seeded in separate groups. The three counties in each group will play each other over three weekends and the group winners will play in the final.

The Munster Senior Hurling League format will see all counties play each other over five weekends and the two top teams will play in the final.

Munster football champions Kerry will open their 2016 campaign with a home game on January 10 against Clare, who return to the McGrath Cup after a two-year absence. In the first round in the Munster Senior Hurling League, new Clare coach Donal Og Cusack will face his native Cork on January 3.

Full details of the draws will appear on this website in due course.

Most Read Stories