Armagh SFC final: Cross' dominance continues

October 11, 2015

Crossmaglen's Paul Hearty. INPHO

Crossmaglen Rangers 2-22

Armagh Harps 0-10

Crossmaglen captured a remarkable 19th Armagh SFC title in 20 years thanks to a virtuoso performance against Armagh Harps at the Athletic Grounds.

The black and ambers were in a different league as they dominated from the off. The writing was on the wall for the challengers when they trailed by 0-1 to 0-7 at the end of an opening quarter in which Paul Hughes (two), Johnny Hanratty, David McKenna, Michael McNamee (two) and Martin Aherne all kicked quality scores for the long-time champions.

Ultan Lennon gave the city side hope with a quick brace of points, but it was all over bar the shouting when Rico Kelly netted in the 28th minute to leave Cross' perched on a 1-10 to 0-5 interval lead.

It continued to be one-way traffic after the restart as David McKenna's 43rd minute goal pushed the Oisin McConville / John McEntee-managed Crossmaglen further in front. Captain Gareth Swift top-scored for Harps with 0-5, but they were unable to offer any resistance to the superb Oliver Plunkett Park outfit who continue to rule Armagh club football with an iron fist. 

Crossmaglen: P Hearty; P Hughes 0-2, A Rushe, P McKeown; S Finnegan, M Aherne 0-2, J Morgan; J Hanratty 0-1, D McKenna 1-1; M McNamee 0-4 (1f), S Kernan 0-1, T Kernan 0-5 (2 '45's, 2f); J Murtagh, R Kelly 1-1, K Carragher 0-4. Subs: O O'Neill 0-1 for Rushe (h/t), D McConville for McKenna (45), G Carragher for Kelly (50), D O'Callaghan for Morgan (54), S Farrelly for Hughes (55). A Cunningham for Hanaratty (Black card 37).

Armagh Harps: P Morrison; C McKee, M McCoy, M McConville; K Loughran 0-1, C White, J McElroy; C Vernon, D McKenna 0-1; R McShane 0-1, P Kelly, C Stevenson; U Lennon 0-2, G Swift 0-5 ( all frees) , C Coulter. Subs: R McGrath for McCoy, C Murphy for Stevenson (both h/t), P Campbell for Kelly (35), S Grimley for Lennon (45), S McCoy for Coulter (57).

Referee: Oliver Hearty (Belleeks).

Most Read Stories