MHC 'B' final: Kingdom stroll to four-in-a-row

September 05, 2015

Kerry celebrate their fourth All-Ireland MHC B title in-a-row at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick.
Pic credit: Elaine Mullins.

Kerry 6-17

Roscommon 1-8

Shane Conway was outstanding as Kerry were crowned All-Ireland minor hurling 'B' champions for a fourth consecutive year following a facile victory over Roscommon at the Gaelic Grounds.

Conway grabbed a hat-trick of goals as the John Buckley-captained Kingdom continued their remarkable winning run in this competition. Roscommon led by 0-2 to 0-1 early on, but the winners hit back with goals from Fionn MacKessy and Eric Leen to take a commanding 2-12 to 0-5 lead into the break.

It continued to be one-way traffic in the second half as Ian Brick's charges increased their advantage with three goals from Conway in the 40th, 51st and 59th minutes, while Buckley raised another green flag in the 47th minute.

Kerry - D Silles; B Lyons, M Leane, G Stackpoole; E Ross, J Diggins, R Collins; J Buckley (1-4, 0-3f), T O'Connor; S Conway (3-7, 0-6f), J McKenna (0-1), D Egan (0-2); E Leen (1-0), F MacKessy (1-1), C Sheehy (0-2). Subs: K O'Regan for F MacKessy, J Lenihan for E Leen, R O'Donovan for R Collins, T Foley for D Egan, C Browne for G Stackpoole.

Roscommon - K Kelly; M Kellahan, J Gunning, J Mulry; D Kelly, E Costello, M Feeley; K Feehily, G Keenan; T Clayton, T Doyle, J Murray; D Glynn (0-6f), J Walker (0-1), B Lawlor (0-1). Subs: A Lyons (1-0) for M Feeley, C Donnelly for J Mulry, R Kilcline for J Murray, S Downey for K Feehily, J Donoghue for J Walker.

Referee - S Cleere.

Most Read Stories