All-Ireland JFC final: Kerry crowned champions

August 08, 2015

Kerry's David Culhane and Eoin O'Donoghue of Mayo during the All-Ireland JFC final at Croke Park.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Kerry 2-18
Mayo 0-10

A Thomas Hickey brace laid the foundations for Kerry's second All-Ireland JFC success in four years at Croke Park today.

The right corner-forward, who missed the semi-final victory over Wexford due to illness, found the back of the Mayo net in both halves as Stephen Wallace's impressive charges enjoyed a convincing 14 points victory.

The Kingdom led from start to finish and had six points on the board before Damien McGing opened Mayo's account in the 18th minute.

Hickey pounced for the first of two goals in the 27th minute to send the Munster champions in at half-time with a 1-9 to 0-6 lead.

The second-half followed a similar pattern and the Alan O'Donoghue captained outfit were practically home and hosed when Hickey raised his second green flag seven minutes after the resumption.

That left the Croke Park scoreboard reading Kerry 2-11, Mayo 0-6 and there was no way back for the Sean McLoughlin managed Mayo.

The prolific Hickey finished with 2-4 to his name while captain O'Donoghue was also in fine scoring form and registered four points.

Substitute Andrew Farrell was on target with five points (three from play) for the losers.

Kerry - S Murphy (0-1'45); D Culhane, J McGuire, D O'Donoghue; T Morley (0-1), J Walsh (0-1), G Crowley; B O'Sullivan, L Kearney; P O'Connor (0-1), B Crowley (0-2), K Spillane (0-1); T Hickey (2-4, 0-1f), C Cox (0-2), A O'Donoghue (0-4). Subs: B Sugrue for J McGuire, J O'Donoghue (0-1) for C Cox, G O'Sullivan for K Spillane, M Brennan for G O'Sullivan (BC), E Kiely for L Kearney, D Griffin for B Crowley.

Mayo - B Forkan; B Leonard, D McHugh, P Barrett; E O'Donoghue (0-1), B Moran, E Collins; P Collins, P Feerick; D Durcan, C Freeman, G Conway; D McGing (0-1), J Hutton, R Malee. Subs: A Farrell (0-5, 2f) for R Malee, S Gaughan for B Leonard, M Barrett for S Gaughan (BC), M Forde for D Durcan, D Healy (0-1) for B Moran, M Togher (0-2) for E Collins.

Referee - N Mooney.

Most Read Stories