Leinster club SHC: Shaw's strike crucial in Raharney win

November 02, 2014

Raharney's Killian Doyle gets away from Ger Cody St Mullins during the Leinster Club SHC game at Cusack Park. Photo courtesy of Daniel Boyce Photography

Raharney (Westmeath) 2-11
St. Mullin's (Carlow) 0-9

Raharney set up a Leinster club SHC semi-final meeting with Kilcormac/Killoughey in a fortnight's time after goals from Killian Doyle and John Shaw helped them to victory over St. Mullin's at Cusack Park.

While Johnny Greville's charges had eight points to spare in the end and St. Mullin's finished the game with 14 players after their full forward Seamus Murphy was red-carded in the final minute, the result was in the balance five minutes into the second half when three quick points from Marty Kavanagh had cut Raharney's 1-5 to 0-4 half-time lead to the minimum.

However, the Westmeath champions kept their composure and pulled away from what was ultimately a comfortable victory after veteran Shaw gathered Brian Smyth's long ball and slipped inside his marker before finishing past Kevin Kehoe in the St. Mullin's goal.

Favoured by the strong wind in the first half, Raharney raced into a 1-3 to 0-0 lead after just five minutes, within Killian Doyle posting 1-2 and his 17-year-old twin brother Ciaran Doyle getting the other point.

But with Kavanagh - who accounted for all bar one of his side's scores - in unerring form from frees and play, the Carlow kingpins got themselves back into it and had looked the more likely winners before Shaw's crucial 40th minute strike changed everything.

Raharney will now attempt to become the first Westmeath hurling club to qualify for a Leinster senior final when their Offaly neighbours visit Cusack Park on November 16.

Scorers - Raharney: Killian Doyle 1-4 (all frees), Ciaran Doyle 0-3, John Shaw 1-0, Brian Connaughton 0-2 (2 frees), Cormac Boyle and Robbie Greville 0-1 each. St. Mullin's: Marty Kavanagh 0-8 (0-6 frees) and Paudie Kehoe 0-1.

Raharney: Andrew Doyle; Tony Doyle, Conor Jordan, Darren Giles; Gary Greville, Paul Greville, Adam Shiels; Niall Flanagan, Cormac Boyle; Joey Boyle, Killian Doyle, Robbie Greville; Ciaran Doyle, Brian Smyth, John Shaw. Subs: Chris Flanagan for J Boyle (38 min) and Brian Connaughton for Flanagan (54 min).

St. Mullin's: Kevin Kehoe; Paul Doyle, John Doran, Darren Whelan; Paudie Kehoe, Ger Cody, Peter Fortune; Michael Walsh, Chris Kavanagh; Marty Kavanagh, John Murphy, Tom Doyle; James Doyle, Seamus Murphy, Jack Kavanagh. Subs: Declan Murphy for Fortune (half-time) and John Walsh for Michael Walsh (53 min).

Referee - Gearoid McGrath (Dublin).

Most Read Stories