Antrim SFC final: Gall's rack up eight on the trot

October 20, 2014

St Gall's CJ McGourty tackled by Cargin's Martin Kane during the 2014 Antrim SFC final. INPHO

St. Gall's 1-11
Erin's Own, Cargin 0-10

St. Gall's secured a record eighth successive Antrim SFC title and a 13th in 14 years at the expense of Cargin at Ahoghill.

A stunning CJ McGourty goal in the 18th minute proved all-important as the Milltown men sealed their place in the record books. Cargin opening brightly with points from Ciaran Close and Gerald O'Boyle, but two Michael Pollock efforts had the holders level before Mick McCann edged Erin's Own back in front.

However, that was the last time the challengers led as Anto Healy equalised before McGourty's rocket into the top corner of John McNabb's net gave Ciaran McCabe's charges a 1-4 to 0-4 interval lead.

Close narrowed the gap from a free early in the second half, but the champions always looked comfortable as scores from McGourty, Pollock and sub Kevin McGourty kept them in the driving seat.

Gerald O'Boyle drilled over a 20-metre free in injury-time, but it was a case of too little, too late for the losers.

St Gall's - C Kerr; R Wilson, C Burke, C Brady; J McGreevy, S Kelly, T O'Neill; N O'Neill, A Gallagher; A Healy (0-1), CJ McGourty (1-4, 0-2f), K McGourty (0-1); M Pollock (0-5, 3f), K Niblock, K Stewart. Subs: B Bradley for K Stewart, K McGourty for A Healy.

Erin's Own, Cargin - J McNabb; K O'Boyle, J Crozier, M Kane; R Devlin, T Scullion, J Carron; M McCann (0-1), G McCann; K Close (0-2f), J Laverty, O McAuley; T McCann (0-1'45), G O'Boyle (0-6, 5f), M Magill. Subs: P McCann for R Devlin, M Kelly for O McAuley.

Referee - S Laverty.

Most Read Stories