Offaly SHC final: three-in-a-row for Kilcormac

October 19, 2014

Dan Currams Kilcormac Killoughey. INPHO

Kilcormac/Killoughey 2-18
St. Rynagh's 1-9

Kilcormac/Killoughey repeated their 2012 final victory over St. Rynagh's at O'Connor Park to become the fifth club to complete a three-in-a-row of Offaly SHC title wins.

Dan Currams bagged 1-4 for Danny Owens' side who turned on the style in the second half by outscoring their opponents 1-9 to 0-2.

The game was only four minutes old when Conor Mahon pounced for the opening goal to give the champions a 1-2 to 0-0 lead. But Rynagh's fought back to trail by just two points at the break, 1-7 to 1-9, after county dual star Joseph O'Connor's speculative shot ended up in the back of the net.

However, an opportunist goal from Currams early in the second half propelled the double Ks into a 2-10 to 1-7 lead, and it was one-way traffic after that as they went on to win by a dozen points with Ciaran Slevin leading the charge.

Kilcormac/Killoughey - Conor Slevin; Con Mahon, G Healion, A McConville; K Grogan, P Healion, B Leonard; D Kilmartin, K Leonard; Ciaran Slevin (0-8, 6f), Conor Mahon (1-2), C Kiely; J Gorman (0-2), D Currams (1-4), P Geraghty (0-2, 1sl). Subs: C Guinan for A McConville, D Murray for P Geraghty, E Grogan for K Grogan, S Guinan for Ciaran Slevin, J Grogan for B Leonard.

St. Rynagh's - C Clancy; S Og Lyons, S Dolan, D Maloney; D Shortt, G Conneely, P Camon; A Treacy, J Sullivan; P Quirke (0-1), S Wynne (0-2, 1f), G Kelly (0-1); S Quirke (0-4, 3f), G Rafferty, J O'Connor (1-1). Subs: N Wynne for A Treacy, C Hernon for D Maloney, N Wynne for J Sullivan, M Maloney for G Kelly.

Referee - B Gavin.

Most Read Stories