Offaly SFC final: Rhode rule again

October 12, 2014

Rhode's Niall McNamee. INPHO

Rhode 0-13
Edenderry 1-7

Niall McNamee was in fine scoring form as Rhode trumped neighbours Edenderry at O'Connor Park to be crowned Offaly senior football champions for a seventh time since 2004 and a 26th time overall.

Pat Daly's charges were full value for their victory which atoned for the disappointment of last year's shock final loss to Tullamore. They will now go on to face St. Patrick's of Louth in the Leinster club SFC on October 26 when O'Connor Park will also be the venue.

Derek Kelly gave underdogs Edenderry an early lead, but with McNamee and Anton Sullivan to the fore, Rhode went on to lead by 0-6 to 0-4 at the break, despite clocking up eight wides.

The Village had extended their advantage to 0-11 to 0-5 before things got worse for Edenderry when their captain Richie Dalton was black-carded. But to their credit, the Reds responded with a goal from Mark Young and Kelly's third point to leave just three in it, 1-5 to 0-11, with 10 minutes remaining.

However, McNamee replied with his sixth point as Rhode closed out the game to lift the Dowling Cup once again.

Rhode - K Garry; J Kavanagh, E Rigney, J McPadden; C Heavey, B Darby, E Byrne; A McNamee, C McNamee; D Garry, P Sullivan, N Darby (0-2); P McPadden (0-3), A Sullivan (0-1), N McNamee (0-7, 3f). Subs: G O'Connell for D Garry, R McNamee for P McPadden.

Edenderry - B Quinlan; S Marshall, S Pender, C Byrne; D Hanlon, S Guing, S Cullen; R Dalton, D Kelly (0-3, 2f); K McGuinness, C Hurley, B Malone; S Moriarty (0-1'45), A McDonnell, S Doyle (0-2, 1f). Subs: A Mahon (0-1) for S Marshall, M Young (1-0) for B Malone, O Lawton for R Dalton (BC), C Farrell for C Hurley, D Nolan for K McGuinness.

Referee - D Brazil.

Most Read Stories