Kerry SHC final replay: Eighth title for Lixnaw

October 11, 2014

Lixnaw and Kerry's John Griffin.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Lixnaw 1-12
Kilmoyley 0-12

Lixnaw didn't require a second-half score as they saw off Kilmoyley at the second attempt this evening in Tralee to claim an eight Kerry senior hurling championship title in their history.

With the previous meeting between these two sides ending in an 0-11 apiece draw, after former Kerry football star Paul Galvin was attacked by an official from the Kilmoyley club, it was Lixnaw that ensured there'd be some early distance put between the sides with a goal from James Flah that put his team into a 1-2 to 0-3 lead and ended up proving the ultimate difference.

Points from Paul Galvin, Enda Galvin (3) and frees from Ricky Heffernan saw the winners take control of the game and by the interval their lead was unassailable at 1-12 to 0-4, with Flah, John Buckley and Heffernan increasing the lead.

Kilmoyley, who had lost midfield ace Paudie O'Connor to a cruciate injury in the build-up to this replay, made a significant improvement in the second-half, outscoring their opponents by 0-8 to nothing.

However, it still left them three short in the end, as the north Kerry men came through a nervy patch in injury-time to hold on for their first title since 2007.

Lixnaw - D Silles; D Shanahan, T McKenna, P Corridan; B Brosnan, M Corridan, S Power; J Griffin (0-1), P Galvin (0-1); J Buckley (0-1), E Galvin (0-3), R Heffernan (0-5, 4f); P Wallace, J Flaherty (1-1), J McKenna. Subs: R Galvin for P Wallace, M Quilter for P Galvin, M Conway for J Buckley.

Kilmoyley - A McCabe; S Murnane, S Dowling, JP O'Mahony; D Fitzell, T Murnane, S Nolan; F McCarthy, D Collins (0-5, 3f, 1'65); S Godley (0-1), C Savage, I Brick; S Maunsell (0-2f), A Royle (0-3), T Maunsell (0-1). Subs: J McCarthy for F McCarthy, M O'Regan for S Godley, M Murnane for S Maunsell, R Collins for C Savage, B Harris for I Brick.

Referee - D Kirwan.

Most Read Stories