New York SFC final: Furlong inspires Kerry win

September 29, 2014

Wicklow's Seanie Furlong is tackled by Paul Begley of Laois.
©INPHO/Donall Farmer.

Kerry 3-15

Leitrim 1-10

Seanie Furlong inspired Kerry to retain their New York Navillus SFC crown in Gaelic Park yesterday, the centenary year title going to the Kingdom representatives for the second year running.

The Wicklow full forward was the star performer for the reigning champions but he was ably assisted by other inter county talents like PJ Banville (Wexford), Ross Wherity (Donegal) and Wille Mulhall (Offaly) who scored a crucial 2-1 to see of the challenge of Leitrim.

Furlong scored 1-7, 0-5 of which were frees and one of which was a first half gem that saw him expertly turn his marker and send his score over from the left with the outside of his left foot.

He also sent through a clinical pass for Mulhall?s first half goal which arrived five minutes before the break to put his side 1-5 to 0-4 ahead.

The corner forward goaled again after a lightning quick start to the second half which saw Kerry stretch their lead to seven points.

Leitrim struggled to close the gap after that blow and despite hard running by Brian Connor and the introduction of two talented subs in the shape of Dan Doona and Nicky Joyce, Kerry were in cruise control, buoyed by the experience of having dethroned the same opposition a year ago.

The game was long over by the time that late Furlong goal arrived after a superb pass from PJ Banville but it was a deserved way for him to round out his day. Brian Connor?s consolation goal at the other end just before the final whistle was too little too late.

KERRY: Ger O'Sullivan (Kerry); Ronan McLaughlin (Donegal), Kieran O'Connor (Kerry), James Huvane (New York); Ger McCartan (Down), Anthony Sweeney (Kerry), John Curran (Kerry); Mike Jim Fitzgerald (Kerry), Colm Keohoe (Wexford); Niall Farrell (Meath), PJ Banville (Wexford), Ross Wherity (Donegal); Willie Mulhall (Offaly), Seanie Furlong (Wicklow), Gary O'Driscoll (Kerry).

LEITRIM: Pa Ryan (Tipperary); Lonan Maguire (Monaghan), Paddy Maguire (Leitrim), Mike Creegan (Leitrim); Ronan O'Flaherty (Kerry), Nathan Breen (Kerry), Cian Maher (Tipperary); Paddy Kelly (Kerry), Brian Connor (Offaly); Darren Freeman (Monaghan), Shane Moran (Leitrim), Keith Quinn (Down); Eoghan Carew (Kildare), Damien Moran (Leitrim), Ciaran Brennan (Sligo).

Referee: John Fitzpatrick (New York).

Most Read Stories