Tyrone SHC final: Eire Og too strong for holders

September 15, 2014

Éire Óg Carrickmore. Pic courtesy of [email protected] ·

Eire Og, Carrickmore 1-19
Eoghan Ruadh, Dungannon 0-9

Eire Og enjoyed a surprisingly comfortable victory over three-in-a-row chasing Eoghan Ruadh in yesterday's Tyrone SHC final at Healy Park.

The Carrickmore side produced a dominant second half display to lift the Benburb Cup for a 22nd time with free-taker Aidan Kelly helping himself to 0-9.

The teams were level four times in the opening half, with Matthew Morgan impressive for Dungannon, but Eire Og took a 0-8 to 0-6 lead into the break thanks to scores from Kelly and Sean Og Grogan.

Kelly and Grogan kept the scoreboard operator busy in a one-sided second half. Eoghan Ruadh's misery was compounded by the late dismissal of midfielder Martin Devlin on a second yellow card.

Eire Og, Carrickmore - C McElhatton; P McCallan, B Begley, A McKernan; S P Begley, M Grogan, D Begley; A Kelly (0-9, 5f), J Kelly; S Og Grogan (0-5), G Fox (0-1), C Grogan (0-2); D Maguire, T Hughes, R McKernan (0-1). Subs: P Hughes (1-0) for D Maguire, P McMahon (0-1) for T Hughes, J Kelly for M Grogan, L Armstrong for R McKernan.

Eoghan Ruadh, Dungannon - J Devlin; C Casey, R Winters, C McNally; P McHugh, S Donnelly, R Clarke; M Winters (0-1), M Devlin; D Casey (0-4, 3f), T Morgan (0-1), C McErlean; M Mulgrew (0-3), P Barker, D Marshall. Subs: K Morgan for D Marshall, B McGilloway for R Clarke, B Winters for C McErlean.

Referee - M McCarron.

Most Read Stories