London SFC final: 14-man Gaels triumph again

September 01, 2014

London's Mark Gottsche. INPHO

Tir Chonaill Gaels 1-12
Fulham Irish 1-9

Tir Chonaill Gaels captured their fifth London SFC title in eight years and their 15th in all after a hard-earned victory over Fulham Irish in yesterday's final at Ruislip.

Fulham made a dream start when Padraig Poland netted in the third minute, but the Greenford-based outfit battled back to lead by 1-5 to 1-3 at the interval, with Cathal Magee tucking away a penalty on the stroke of half-time.

Two Joe Feeney frees and another effort from Barry Mitchell extended the Gaels' advantage to four points early in the second half, but Fulham responded with scores from Alan Hickey and Lorcan Mulvey.

When corner forward Magee was sent off with 10 minutes remaining, the signs looked ominous for the Gaels, but the dug in and late points from sub Liam Gavaghan and John McNicholas sealed the win.

Tir Chonaill Gaels - D Traynor; B Ross, P Butler, B Collins; M McCoy (0-1), E McConville, G Magee; M Gottsche, A Bradley; B Mitchell (0-2, 1f), D Gilsenan (0-1), J McNicholas (0-1); B O'Reilly (0-1), J Feeney (0-2), C Magee (1-2, 1-0pen, 0-2f). Subs: C O'Neill for B O'Reilly, N Boyle for G Magee, L Gavaghan (0-1) for B Mitchell, L Kavanagh for A Bradley, J McGrath (0-1f) for J Feeney.

Fulham Irish - D Butler; M McCaffrey, S Walsh, C O'Connor; M Walsh, S Mulligan, A Savage; L Mulvey (0-3, 2f), D O'Connor; S Hannon (0-1), M Murphy, D O'Neill; A Hickey (0-1), M Hughes (0-1), P Poland (1-1). Subs: J Gilfedder for C O'Connor, D McEvoy (0-2) for D O'Neill, D Gilhooly for A Hickey, D Duggan for M Hughes.

Referee - M Maher.

Most Read Stories