Monaghan SHC final: 'Blayney regain crown

August 04, 2014

Mick Quigley back where he belongs .... Pic courtesy of Castleblayney Hurling facebook.
In one of the first county finals of the year, Castleblayney defeated holders Inniskeen by 1-13 to 0-9 at Aughnamullen yesterday to regain the Monaghan SHC title after a 12-month absence.

'Blayney led by 1-5 to 0-6 at the break thanks to a deflected goal from Hugh Byrne's free in the 23rd minute.

On the restart, the winners scored seven unanswered points per Deaglan Crowe, free-taker Hugh Byrne, Brian McGuigan and Fergal Rafter to open up a 1-12 to 0-6 lead after 41 minutes. Ronan Meegan replied with frees for Inniskeen, but 'Blayney weren't to be denied as Mark Treanor picked up the man of the match award afterwards.

Whereas Meegan accounted for all but two points of the losers' tally, the new champions had seven different scorers.

Most Read Stories