Nicky Rackard Promotion Play-Off: Longford hurling on the up

June 14, 2014

Longford, Lory Meagher Cup winners 2014.
Longford 3-17
Sligo 3-13

Longford secured promotion to the Nicky Rackard Cup for 2015 thanks to a four point victory over Sligo at Ballinamore today.

The first half was a closely contested affair and the sides went in level at the break - Longford 1-10, Sligo 2-7.

Coming into the game, all the momentum was with Longford following their Lory Meagher Cup final success over Fermanagh last Saturday.

And the second half belonged to the Martin Coyle-captained outfit as they outscored their opponents by 2-7 to 1-6.

The result sees 2008 winners Sligo relegated and they will play in the Lory Meagher Cup competition for the first time next year.

Longford - P Cullen; J Gaffney, B Stakem, K Murray (0-2); P Corcoran, C Flanagan, C Corcoran; J Casey, P Barden; L Kelly (1-0), M Coyle (0-1), K Cox; J O'Brien (1-9, 0-4f), C Kavanagh (1-4, 0-1f), G Moore (0-1).

Sligo - S Hayes; M Davey, J Kenny, C Murphy; E McGowna, L Reidy, T Brennan; G O'Kelly Lynch (0-1), B Kenny (0-1); G Waldron (0-3), C Brennan, K Raymond (1-8, 0-5f); E McCarthy, K Gilmartin (2-0), G Cadden. Subs: J Durkin for C Murphy, E McDonagh for E McCarthy, R Brennan for G Cadden, S Quinn for G O'Kelly Lynch.

Referee - J Keane.

Most Read Stories