Waterford Crystal Cup: triumphant Tipp lay down a marker

February 08, 2014

Limerick's Dan Morrissey and Denis Maher of Tipperary during the Bord Gais Energy Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship Semi-Final at Gaelic Grounds INPHO
Tipperary 4-22
Clare 3-11

Tipperary put on an impressive show to overwhelm holders Clare in last night's Waterford Crystal Cup final at the Gaelic Grounds.

Despite starting eight of their All-Ireland winning team, Clare were over-run in the second half after they had held a slender 3-5 to 1-10 lead at the break. Eamon O'Shea's charges never looked back after hitting an unanswered 1-3 within four minutes of the restart.

Tipp dominated the early exchanges to lead by 1-8 to 0-4 after 24 minutes, with Michael Heffernan scoring the goal, but the Banner responded with three goals in a blistering five-minute spell from John Conlon, Tony Kelly and Conor McGrath to go into the interval with their noses in front.

But the second half turned out to be a one-sided affair after Conor Kenny's 38th minute major saw Tipp wrestle back control. Points from free-taker Seamus Callanan, Denis Maher and Heffernan extended the Premier's advantage before goals from the impressive Maher in the 48th and 54th minutes put the result beyond doubt.

It was Tipp's second Waterford Crystal Cup success in three years.

Scorers - Tipperary: S Callanan 0-9 (7fs), D Maher 2-2, M Heffernan 1-1, C Kenny 1-0, J Woodlock, R Gleeson, K Morris 0-2 each, C O'Brien (f), S Bourke, S O'Brien, T Stapleton 0-1 each. Clare: T Kelly 1-2, J Conlon 1-1, C McGrath 1-0, C Ryan (2fs), C O'Connell (2fs) 0-3 each, P Duggan 0-2.

Tipperary - D Gleeson; C Barrett, C O'Mahony, R Maher; S McGrath, T Stapleton, C O'Brien; J Woodlock (Capt.), S Bourke; D Maher, S Callanan, P Murphy; K Morris, C Kenny, M Heffernan. Subs: R Gleeson for Bourke (63), S O'Brien for Kenny (63), J O'Dwyer for Morris (63), P Heffernan for McGrath (66).

Clare - P Kelly; P Flanagan, C Dillon, S Morey; C Cleary, P Donnellan (capt), P O'Connor; S Golden, P Duggan; J Conlon, T Kelly, C Ryan; D Reidy, C McGrath, C O'Connell. Subs: C McInerney for Golden (h-t), S Collins for Ryan (50), D McInerney for Flanagan (64).

Referee - J Sexton (Cork).

Most Read Stories