Ulster club SFC: Kelly double sinks Shamrocks

November 17, 2013

Gary McFadden of Glenswilly
@INPHO/Presseye/Andrew Paton
Glenswilly (Donegal) 3-9
Roslea Shamrocks (Fermanagh) 2-8

Colin Kelly scored a brace of goals and Michael Murphy fisted another as Glenswilly trumped a wasteful Roslea at Healy Park to qualify for their first Ulster club SFC final.

Kelly gave the Donegal kingpins the perfect start when his shot had just enough power to beat Roslea goalkeeper Sean Boyle for the opening goal in the second minute. Donegal skipper Murphy raised a second green flag to help Glenswilly to a 2-4 to 0-2 lead after 20 minutes.

Seamus Quigley replied with his third and fourth points, while James McMahon added another to narrow the gap further. But Murphy's late point gave Glenswilly a six-point cushion, 2-5 to 0-5, at the break.

Peter McGinnitty's charges dominated the third quarter, but were undermined by some poor finishing. Kevin Cosgrove and Peter Lynch managed points before Kelly flicked Murphy's free to the net in the 42nd minute to put Glenswilly back in the driving seat.

Seamus Quigley gave the Shamrocks hope when he netted from the penalty spot after Niall Cosgrove had been taken down by Joe Gibbons. Conor Mulligan scored a second Roslea goal late on, but three unanswered points from Gibbons, Caolan Kelly and Gary McFadden saw Glenswilly through to a final date with Ballinderry in two weeks' time.

Glenswilly - P O'Donnell; B McDaid, R Crawford, K McFadden; Caolan Kelly, J P McDaid, E Ward; N Gallagher, C Bonner (0-1); J McFadden, J Gibbons (0-1), Colin Kelly (2-1); D McGinley (0-1), G McFadden (0-3, 2f), M Murphy (1-2, 0-2f). Subs: B Farrelly for D McGinley, C Gallagher for Colin Kelly, R Diver for K McFadden.

Roslea Shamrocks - S Boyle; M Renfrew, C Mulligan (1-0), C Quigley; M Beagan, N Cassidy, J McMahon (0-1); K Cosgrove (0-1), J Sherry; N Cosgrove, S McMahon, P Lynch (0-1); N McMahon, Seamie Quigley (1-4, 1-0 pen, 0-2f), Sean Quigley. Subs: D Reilly (0-1) for N McMahon, B Sherlock for S McMahon, S Lynch for J McMahon.

Referee - C Branagan.

Most Read Stories