Donegal SFC final: Murphy delivers man-of-the-match display

October 21, 2013

Glenswilly's Michael Murphy with Christopher Murrin of Killybegs during the Donegal SFC final at MacCumhail Park, Ballybofey. INPHO
Glenswilly 3-19
Killybegs 2-6

Michael Murphy capped off a memorable weekend by scoring 1-5 in Glenswilly's 16-point victory over Killybegs in the Donegal SFC final in Ballybofey.

Less than 24 hours after captaining Ireland to success in the opening International Rules test, the Donegal star togged out at full-forward for Gary McDaid's side and delivered a 'man-of-the-match' performance.

The team's talisman netted a first half goal via the penalty spot and his team went in at the break with a slender 1-7 to 2-3 lead.

Goals from Christopher Murrin and Hugh McFadden in the opening 15 minutes got the underdogs off to a good start but Glenswilly upped the ante considerably in the second half and Murphy's finger prints were all over goals scored by Neil Gallagher and Ciaran Bonner.

Murphy's county colleague Gallagher found the back of the Killybegs net five minutes after the resumption while Bonner added gloss to the victory when raising his team's third green flag 12 minutes from the end.

Glenswilly's woes were compounded when full-back Jason Noctor was sent off after picking up a second yellow card for a foul on Murphy.

Everton and Ireland soccer star Seamus Coleman was amongst the attendance but left Ballybofey disappointed.

Glenswilly - P O'Donnell; B McDaid, E Ward, A McDevitt; R Crawford (0-1), J McDaid, J Gibbons; N Gallagher (1-1), C Bonner (1-1); D McGinley (0-1), G McFadden (0-7, 5f), K McFadden (0-2); Colin Kelly, M Murphy (1-5, 1-0 pen, 5f), Caolan Kelly (0-1). Subs: C Gallagher for J McDaid, B Farrelly for K McFadden, J McFadden for Colin Kelly, R Diver for Crawford, O Crawford for Bonner.

Killybegs - A O'Hara; E Gallagher, J Noctor, D O'Donnell; C Murrin (1-0), S Molloy, D Conwell (0-1); E Murphy, M Smyth; B Boyle (0-1), C Molloy, D Breslin; B Faherty (0-1), H McFadden (1-3, 3f), M Boyle. Subs: P Gallagher for M Boyle, B McGuire for C Molloy, B Cannon for Murphy.

Referee - I Molloy.

Most Read Stories