All-Ireland MHC titles for Kerry and Mayo

September 07, 2013

Kerry defeated Meath to claim the All Ireland MHC B title at Nenagh
Kerry and Mayo were crowned All-Ireland MHC 'B' and 'C' champions respectively this afternoon.

In Nenagh, Kerry withstood a late Meath rally to prevail on a 1-19 to 3-9 scoreline. Jack Fagan's goal from long range had the Royals 1-0 to 0-2 ahead after five minutes, but the Kingdom recovered impressively to lead by 1-12 to 1-5 at the break.

The Munster side had powered into a seemingly unassailable 1-18 to 1-6 lead when Jack Regan netted a 48th minute penalty for Meath. Regan raised another green flag from a free near the end, but Kerry held on for victory.

In the All-Ireland MHC 'C' final at Ballinamore, Mayo were always in control against Monaghan, eventually running out 1-15 to 0-8 winners. With their senior and minor footballers both preparing for All-Ireland finals on September 22, Mayo fans will be hoping it's the first of three national titles to come to West this month.

Kerry - S Murphy; D Shanahan, C Kearney, J Barrett; M Lynch, K Carmody, S O'Sullivan; P Lucid (0-7, 4f), P O'Connor (0-3); D O'Carroll (0-2), J Brick, A Murphy (0-2); F O'Sullivan (1-0), M O'Leary (0-3), J Wallace. Subs: P O'Shea for Barrett, K Bowler (0-2) for Brick C Doncel for F O'Sullivan.

Meath - N O'Sullivan; L Ferguson (0-1), L Rickard, C Shirren; D Reilly, C Bird (0-1), L Swayne; S Kelly, J Fagan (1-1); K Dixon, J Regan (2-3, 1-0pen, 1-1f), R Raleigh; M Healy, G McGowan (0-3), S Doyle. Subs: S Quigley for Dixon, M Healy for Doyle, K Ryan for Kelly.

Referee - J Heffernan.


Mayo - D Freyne; J Lyons, D Cunnane, S Coughlan; J Judge, S Nugent, J Murphy; J Morley, F Boland (0-6, 5f); S Healy, C Canty (0-1), M Lyons (0-2); C Scahill (1-3, 0-1f), Z O'Toole, S Mulroy (0-1). Subs: R Comer for S Coughlan, M Phillips for Z O'Toole, J Coyne (0-2) for R Comer, N Kenny for C Canty.

Monaghan - M O'Dowd; R O'Neill, N Flood, N McSuibhne; A Kerr, C Boyle, T Bramley; A Curran, C McAnespie (0-1); R Curran (0-1), C McQuaid, S Mohan; J Dooley, D Meegan (0-6f), T Forde. Subs: M McSuibhne for J Dooley, S Tenor for S Mohan.

Referee - J Clarke.

Most Read Stories