Leinster Club SFC semi-final: Furman nets crucial goal

November 26, 2012

Sarsfields' Conor Tiernan and Elliott O'Reilly of Ballymun Kickhams during the Leinster Club SFC semi final at Newbridge. INPHO

Ted Furman's 47th minute goal sent Ballymun Kickhams into the Leinster Club SFC decider at the expense of Sarsfields in Newbridge yesterday.

Paul Curran's team edged a low-scoring first half by 0-5 to 0-2 and Furman's goal gave them sufficient breathing space.

Kildare representatives Sarsfields were left to rue hitting 15 wides compared to their opponents' eight.

They enjoyed the best of the exchanges early in the second half and points from Padraig Brennan (free) and Ray Cahill cut the deficit to the minimum by the 38th minute.

Furman's goal settled Ballymun's nerves and they finished strongly with points from Dean Rock (2) and Davy Byrne.

Ballymun Kickhams - S Currie; Enda Dolan, P McMahon, Eoin Dolan; A Hubbard, K Connolly (0-1), J Burke; Davy Byrne (0-1), J McCarthy (0-1); E Reilly, K Leahy (0-1), J Whelan; T Furman (1-0), D Rock (0-4), S Forde. Subs: Derek Byrne for Forde, A O'Brien for Derek Byrne, S George for Reilly, J Small for Leahy, F Andrews for Furman.

Sarsfields - P O'Sullivan; S Hurley, S Campbell, C Duffy; D McDonnell, N O'Callaghan, C Tiernan; M Byrne, G White; C McDonnell, R Cahill (0-2), D McKenna; P Brennan (0-1), A Smith (0-2), R Confrey. Subs: C Walsh for Smith, D Nea for Brennan.

Referee - E Kinsella.

Most Read Stories