Leinster club SFC: St. Patrick's have that little bit extra

October 29, 2012
St Patrick's (Wicklow) 3-10
Eire Og (Carlow) 2-11
(after extra-time)

St. Patrick's became the first Wicklow club to clear the first hurdle in the AIB Leinster club SFC in nine years when Paul Earls' late goal handed them a dramatic extra-time victory over Eire Og at Aughrim.

The county star fisted a late goal past goalkeeper Robert Moore after Eric McCormack's goal at the other end looked to have won it for the five-time Leinster champions.

There was little to choose between the sides throughout. They were level on 1-8 apiece at the end of normal time and few would have complained if the tie had gone to a replay. But Earls' late punched effort from Donie Fitzgerald's high delivery saw the Wicklow town side edge a titanic battle.

The long-serving Simon Rea scored an early goal for the Carlow men, but that was cancelled out by an Austin O'Malley effort, which ensured St. Pat's of parity at the short whistle, 1-4 each. It remained close throughout the second half with Eric McCormack's last-gasp free sending the game to extra-time.

O'Malley's second major had St. Pat's 2-9 to 1-10 in front before extra-time ended in a welter of excitement.

St. Patrick's: C Byrne; S Murley, P Higgins, R Connolly; P McWalter, C Doyle, D Healy, D McEvoy; N Kennedy; M Byrne (0-4, frees), P Earls (1-2), R Murphy, T Kelly (0-1), A. O'Malley (2-2), D. O'Sullivan (0-1). Subs: D Fitzgerald for Kennedy, A Jameson for C. Doyle

Éire Óg: R Moore; V Kavanagh, C McCarthy, P McElligott; B Kavanagh, D Hayden, A Callinan; S Gannon, M Ware (0-1); B Carberry (0-1), BHennessy (0-1), E Ruth (0-1); E McCormack (1-6, three frees and a 45), K Hession, S Rea (1-0). Subs: J Lowry for P McElligott, D O'Brien for Hession, M Fitzgerald (0-1) for Carberry, C Mullen for Rea, T.Dowling for McCarthy, B Carberry for Fitzgerald, C Blake for O'Brien.

Referee: M Deegan (Laois).

Most Read Stories