Westmeath SHC final: Clonkill retain crown

October 15, 2012

Clonkill defeated Buffer's Alley in the Leinster SHL Division 1 final replay.
Clonkill 2-16
Raharney 2-11

Clonkill retained the Examiner Cup and, in doing so, ended their Raharney jinx at a wet Cusack Park.

The Loughegar-based outfit made amends for their 2008 and 2010 final losses to their great rivals with an accomplished performance to be crowned champions for a 13th time. Clonkill led by 1-6 to 1-4 at the end of an exciting first half. Brian Connaughton's goal from a 20-metre free had Raharney 1-3 to 0-5 ahead after 19 minutes, but Cathal Scally replied with a similar score five minutes later to give the champions the edge at the break.

Despite losing Connaughton to an injury four minutes after the restart, Raharney were just a point behind, 1-10 to 1-11 when Clonkill substitute Alan Dowdall's kicked goal gave Clonkill a four-point advantage with seven minutes to go.

Pat O'Toole's charges tagged on five points in as many minutes before Robbie Greville pulled back a consolation goal for the Deelsiders in injury-time.

Clonkill - S Nulty; T Egan, J Fagan, K Reilly; Adam Price, A Mitchell (0-3), M Keegan; P Dowdall, S Power (0-1); B Murtagh (0-4), A McGrath (0-3), L Loughlin; Anthony Price (0-2), C Scally (1-0), E Price (0-1). Subs: A Dowdall (1-1) for Loughlin, C Reilly (0-1) for Power, N Dowdall for Anthony Price, C Austin for Keegan, S Cleary for Egan.

Raharney - J Greville; T Doyle, P Greville, M Glennon; A Sheils, C Jordan, B Connaughton (1-0); R Greville (1-0), N Flanagan; C Flanagan (0-1), F Boyle (0-2), J Boyle (0-3); D Riggs, J Shaw (0-5), C Boyle. Subs: D Carey for Connaughton, J Kennedy for Carey.

Referee - J McGrath.

Most Read Stories