Sarsfields retain All-Ireland GAA Golf Challenge title

September 16, 2012
Sarsfields of Galway this weekend became the first club to successfully defend their All-Ireland GAA Golf Challenge title when they beat a strong field at Waterford Castle Golf Club.

In doing so, they also became the first club to receive the MacCarthy Perpetual Trophy Cup, a fantastic Waterford Crystal replica of hurling's Liam MacCarthy Cup.

Having been in the joint overnight lead with Clare's Clooney-Quin on 83 points, the Sarsfields quartet of David Byrne Snr and Jnr, Padraig Hynes and Michael Corcoran put together a second day total of 79 to win by four points.

Clooney-Quin, a team comprising PJ O'Neill. Liam McInerney, Michael O'Brien and Jimmy Kelly, consoled themselves with the Munster title.
Castlederg - Declan Devine, Kevin Connolly, Danny Glackin and former Tyrone footballer Aiden Lynch - were one shot back on 157 and took the Ulster crown.
Former All-Ireland champions St Brigids of Dublin, represented by Cian and Diarmuid O'Mahony, Paul Keane and Sean Duignan, were the best placed Leinster team.

After another successful staging of the Challenge in this its 13th year with five overseas teams in action, entries are already being taken for next year.

The €200 per person entry includes the two days' golf, two nights' accommodation in Waterford Castle's spectacular lodges, two three-course evening meals, two breakfasts, prizes, refreshments and entertainment.

Result - 1. All-Ireland and Connacht winners: Sarsfields (Galway) 162; 2. Munster winners: Clooney-Quin (Clare) 158; 3. Ulster winners: Castlederg (Tyrone) 157; 4. Leinster winners: St Brigids (Dublin).

Most Read Stories