Leitrim SHC: Gortletteragh have that bit extra

October 24, 2011
Gortletteragh ended a 13-year wait when they overcame Cluainin (Manorhamilton) after extra-time in Saturday's Leitrim SHC final replay at Carrick-on-Shannon.

Gortletteragh 3-7
Cluainin 1-11
(After extra-time)

As well as denying their opponents an historic senior football and hurling championship double, Gortletteragh became the first ever holders of the Stephen Dorrigan Cup. A brace of first half goals from Noel Beirne gave the south Leitrim club a 2-3 to 0-4 lead at the break, but Cluainin battled back in the second half and with half forward Gary Hickey in outstanding form - he accounted for all of his side's second half total of 1-4 - they forced extra-time on a 1-8 to 2-5 scoreline.

The losers got their noses in front at the beginning of extra-time and looked set to prevail until Eanna Madden scored a third Gortletteragh goal six minutes from the end to settle an absorbing contest.

SCORERS - Gortletteragh: N Beirne 2-1, E Madden 1-0, C McCrann 0-4 (4f), T Beirne 0-2 (1f). Cluainin: G Hickey 1-8 (8f), M Dolan, B Feeney, D Poniard (0-1 each).

GORTLETTERAGH - T McLoughlin; S Costello, C Beirne, D Kennedy; B Duignan, S Mallon, K McGrail; C McCrann, M Beirne (capt); C Egan, D Kennedy, E Madden; M O'Donoghue, N Beirne,T Beirne. Subs: C McAuley for M O'Donoghue, J McGuinness for C Egan.

CLUAININ - R O'Snodaigh; P Clancy, S Feeney (capt), P Clerkin; S McTiernan, M Poniard, J O'Brien; D Poniard, M Dolan; M McKeon, B Feeney, G Hickey; A Coleman, C Phibbs, S McTiernan. Subs: B McDonald for C Phibbs, P Loughlin for A Coleman, V Cronin for S McTiernan, S McTiernan for M Dolan, M Dolan for M McKeon.

REF - G Chapman (Sligo)

Most Read Stories