Cavan SHC: Ballymachugh break Mullahoran's dominance

September 26, 2011

Ballymachugh's Killian Smith gets away from Mullahoran's Gerard Clerkin during the Cavan SHC final at Breffni Park
Mullahoran's remarkable 21-year hold on the Cavan SHC crown came to an end yesterday when Ballymachugh shocked them to win a first county title.

Ballymachugh 4-8
Mullahoran 1-6

The winners trailed by 0-2 to 1-3 at half-time, but rallied in the second half - scoring three goals inside the opening nine minutes - to run out impressive winners with all of their forwards getting on the scoresheet.

Teams - Ballymachugh: P Martin; A Hawe, P Baxter, J Smith; J Halton, K Smith, D O'Reilly; B Devine (0-5), K O'Reilly (0-1); A Baxter, A Donohue (1-0), S Harten (1-0); L McKenna (1-0), P Sheridan (1-0), L Buchanan (0-2). Subs: Kieran Goldrick, J Leahy and Killian Goldrick.

Mullahoran: D Brady; J Brennan, G Bagnall, S Og Brady; A Sheridan, J Fitzsimons, F Byrd; A Nelligan, J McMahon; P Brady, R O'Hagan (1-3), G Clerkin (0-1); H Briody, B McArdle, S Briody (0-2). Subs: Ryan Smith, Martin Baker and M McArdle.

Most Read Stories