Rathnew club notes

November 16, 2015

Apologies for the lack of notes last week, a bit of a mix up occurred and we missed the deadline. Our Seniors were beaten by a solid St. Lomans outfit and so the Leinster dream is over for this year. Historically we would have been known for grinding out results in heavy dogged conditions and not to make excuses but the weather didn't suit our lads who struggled with heavy ground and fierce conditions, one would have to question whether the game should have been played at all. We played into the worst of the weather with gale force wind and torrential rain, which were both to die in the second half., but we kept plugging away courtesy of Big Jem with a couple of minutes to go in the first half. Still we went in 1-6 to 1-1 down and a mountain to climb in the second half but all hope was not lost.

We rallied a couple of times but Lomans were shrewd and whenever we got it back to 3 points they seemed to break up the field at ease and tagged on a score. However we were still in the game with 12 minutes to go when Jem Stafford got a red card this was born out of frustration, he was easily fouled twice in the build up and in truth the referee didn't cover himself in glory on the day, having a very inconsistent game which ended in awarding us 14 frees and St. Lomans 27 frees and moving the ball up 5 times gifting them scores. After losing Jem we struggled to secure possession and were robbed of the chance to put him on the edge of the square where he has pilfered us many a last minute winner. These are the fine points that come with the Leinster competitions and which defines a team. The opposition gets better and more ruthless and the refs get more finicky as the National spotlight is on them and you get punished for any lapse of concentration or indiscipline.

In reflection the lads will be very disappointment as there were not beaten out the gate by a great team and few can say they reached the same level of performance as in Tullamore. The seven point loss wasn't a fair reflection of how close the game was, as a goal and a point came after we went down to 13 men, when Jody was shown red for a hard challenge that could have been a yellow. St. Lomans go on to play Ballyboden at home and you got the impression in the dressing room that the lads were gutted any they had let one get away. When all is said and done they players and management can be happy with their 3 in a row achievement as is everyone from the village, at time of writing they have an opportunity to win another two cups and hopefully the lads can pick themselves up dust themselves down finish strong and put a marker down for next year.

Important notice, presentation for Under 12, 14 and 16 players is on Saturday the 21st between 3 and 5 in the handball alley. I hope there will be a big crowd to support our future stars as they collect their medals for the years achievements. Under 12s and Under 14s are being awarded with a trip to Croke Park to watch Ireland take on Australia in the International rules.

Club physio has advised me that the IRFU are having a discussion on concussion in the Grand Hotel on Tuesday the 24th of November at 8pm, this is a free event. Concussion is not a rugby specific injury and to any concerned parents or coaches it would be worth your while to attend as you and take some information out of it and continue the awareness in our own club. 

Best wishes to Ronan Coffey and family whose son Eoghan is in hospital. Get well soon Eoghan and we hope to see you back at coaching on a Saturday morning very soon.

Condolences to the Jacob family of Wicklow on the passing of Jake and to the Carroll family on the passing of Joseph Carroll. Also the Healy family of Newtown on the passing of Jock Healy. A special mention to the Marah family of the passing of Mary Marah. Mary was married to the great Trapper Marah who played on the 1971 team captained by his brother Whackser.

Please contact 087-9882640 with any information you would like in the notes.

Most Read Stories