FL4 round-up: a day of draws in the basement

February 11, 2018

Wicklow's Rory Finn.
©INPHO/Donall Farmer.

There were two games in Division Four this afternoon and they both finished all-square.

Antrim lost ground on leaders Carlow and Laois at the top of the table when a 0-12 apiece draw with 13-man Wicklow at snow-capped Corrigan Park saw them relinquish their 100% record.

Despite having captain Seanie Furlong and substitute Theo Smyth dismissed for second yellow-card offences in the second half, the Garden County salvaged a share of the spoils when midfielder Rory Finn equalised in injury time after sub CJ McGourty appeared to have won it for the Saffrons.

Josh Ryan scored two goals for Limerick in Ruislip. ©INPHO/Donall Farmer.

Meanwhile, at Ruislip, London's great season continued when Anthony McDermott fired a 76th-minute major to earn a 2-8 apiece draw with Limerick. The Treaty appeared to have nicked it when Josh Ryan claimed his second goal at the death. Fergal McMahon converted a first-half penalty for the Exiles, who trailed at the break, 1-4 to 1-2, but never gave up. London move up to fourth.

Antrim - C Kerr; P Healy (0-1), P Gallagher, N Delargy; K O'Boyle, M Sweeney, J Laverty; S Burke, M McCarry; P McAleer, S Beatty, C Murray (0-1); P McBride (0-5, 4f), M Fitzpatrick, R Murray (0-4, 2f). Subs: CJ McGourty (0-1) for M McCarry, R Johnston for S Burke, K Healy for M Sweeney.

Wicklow - M Jackson (0-3f); C Hyland, J Snell, H Wilson; P Burke, D Healy (0-1), R O'Brien; R Finn (0-1), J Stafford; D Hayden (0-3f), M Kenny, C Magee; J Crowe, S Furlong (0-4, 3f), C Healy. Subs: E Murtagh for P Burke, D Keane for C Magee, T Smyth for M Kenny, C Byrne for D Keane.

Referee - N McKenna.


London - G McEvoy; P Butler, R Jones, P Begley; C Dunne, S McManus, A Moyles (0-4, 3f); A McDermott (1-0), J Moran; M Mangan, L Gavaghan (0-1), T Waters (0-1); R Elliott (0-1), M Gottsche, F McMahon (1-1, 1-0pen). Subs: L Staunton for C Dunne, M Carroll for M Gottsche.

Limerick - D O'Sullivan; D Connolly, S O'Dea, B Fanning; D Daly (0-1), C Fahy, P White; D Ward, D Treacy; T McCarthy, D Neville (0-1), J Liston; J Lee (0-4, 3f), J Ryan (2-0), G Noonan (0-1). Subs: S O'Carroll (0-1) for D Daly, P Nash for D Treacy, P De Brun for T McCarthy, S Doherty for G Noonan, T Griffin for D Ward, S McSweeney for J Lee.

Referee - S Laverty.

Most Read Stories