Connacht SFL: Man of the match Smith points the way for the Rossies

January 20, 2019

Roscommon captain Enda Smith raises the Connacht SFL trophy

Donie Smith delivered a ‘man-of-the-match’ performance as Roscommon were crowned FBD League winners at Galway’s expense in Tuam Stadium today.

The accurate Smith was on target with 0-8 (four frees) in Anthony Cunningham’s side’s 0-13 to 1-5 victory over the Tribesmen.

Galway’s profligacy in front of the posts will be a concern for manager Kevin Walsh as he turns his attention to next weekend’s league opener against Cavan.

Their wastefulness came back to haunt them at the final whistle but credit must go to Roscommon who made life very difficult for their opponents.

The primrose and blues shaded the first-half exchanges on a scoreline of 0-6 to 0-4.

A Barry McHugh goal gave the hosts a big lift in the second-half but points from Ultan Harney, Colin Compton and Smith (two frees) steadied the Roscommon ship.

Smith then applied the gloss to a fine individual performance with an injury-time point while Galway’s woes were compounded when substitute David Wynne was sent off.

The win will give Cunningham & Co a boost as they switch their focus to next Saturday’s Division 1 trip to MacHale Park to take on Mayo.

Roscommon - D O’Malley; D Murray, C Daly, E McGrath; C Hussey, N Daly, R Daly; T O’Rourke, E Smith; S Killoran (0-1), D Smith (0-8, 5f), N Kilroy; C Cregg, C Lennon (0-2), C Compton (0-1). Subs: G Patterson for S Killoran, U Harney (0-1) for D Murray, A Lyons for N Kilroy, C Fitzmaurice for C Cregg, H Darcy for T O’Rourke.

Galway - R Lavelle; D Kyne, S A O Ceallaigh, E Kerin; G O’Donnell (0-2), G Bradshaw, S Kelly; T Flynn, K Duggan; J Heaney, J Duane, F Cooney; S Walsh (0-2, 1f), M Daly, B McHugh (1-1, 0-1f). Subs: D Wynne for D Kyne, C D’Arcy for M Daly, P Cooke for F Cooney, P Cunningham for J Duane, D Cummins for T Flynn.

Referee - L Devenney.

Most Read Stories