Team news: Basquel and Howard start for Dubs

January 02, 2018

Galway's Kieran Molloy and Michael Daly with Brian Howard of Dublin

Dublin interim manager Paul Clarke has named five members from last year's All-Ireland U21 squad in his starting line-up for tomorrow night's O'Byrne Cup encounter with Offaly.

With the All-Ireland championship winning team currently on holiday, the Dubs will experiment again in this year's competition with Raheny star Brian Howard the only starter to have saw any action in last summer's All-Ireland senior championship.

Howard starts at left corner-back while his club mate Seán McMahon takes the number six jersey and Ballyboden's Colm Basquel, who was on the bench during the Dubs' 2016 final replay victory over Mayo, is named at centre-forward. Glenn O'Reilly (Na Fianna) and Chris Sallier (Thomas Davies) were other members involved in last year's U21 success and start on the left flank of the attack tomorrow night.

While experimenting, Dublin won last year's O'Byrne Cup and will hope for a strong start to their title defence at Parnell Park (throw-in 8pm).

Dublin (O'Byrne Cup v Offaly): Andy Bunyan; Ross McGowan, Graham Hannigan, Brian Howard; David Devereux, Seán McMahon, Gerry Seaver; Emmet Ó Conghaile, Aaron Elliott; Kieran Doherty, Colm Basquel; Glenn O'Reilly; Killian O'Gara, Shane Carthy, Chris Sallier

Most Read Stories