Connacht club roundup: glory for Glavey's and Lahardane

November 19, 2017

Former Mayo footballer John Maughan.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Michael Glavey's of Roscommon and Mayo's Lahardane were crowned Connacht club IFC and JFC winners respectively this afternoon.

At Hyde Park, Andy Glennon posted 0-9 as Glavey's defeated Claregalway of Galway by 3-14 to 1-12. An own goal by the Claregalway goalkeeper handed the winners a 1-7 to 0-5 half-time lead and they extended their advantage after the restart when Caoileann Fitzmaurice netted. 

Mark Rohan's 52nd minute goal reduced the deficit to five points, 1-10 to 2-12, but Glavey's weren't to be denied as Conor Hussey's late major sealed their win.

Meanwhile, first-time Mayo junior champions Lahardane were 1-15 to 3-5 victors over Sligo's Ballymote at Elvery's MacHale Park.

Captain Gary Naughton delivered a man-of-the-match performance for Lahardane who trailed by 2-2 to 0-4 at the break. Afterwards, MacHales manager John Maughan said the victory was up there with his famous Munster SFC success with Clare in 1992.

Michael Glavey's - D O'Malley; L Cregg, S O'Malley, N Morris; J Brennan, Tom Murphy, G Patterson (1-1); C Fitzmaurice (1-0), J Finan; C Hussey (1-0), S Comer (0-4, 1f), D Ruane; S Burke, A Glennon (0-9, 2f), C Heneghan. Subs: T Murphy for S Burke, C Ruane for D Ruane, D Frayne for S Comer.

Claregalway - B O'Donoghue; B Loughlin, Barry Callanan, M Goldrick; K McDermott, S Cunniffe, C Campbell (0-1); D Hennessy, E Commins; B Goldrick (0-3f), S Moran (0-3, 2f), P Kearney; M Rohan (1-1), Brian Callanan, D Cummins (0-3). Subs: J Kearney for B Loughlin, C Kelly (0-1) for Brian Callanan, C Glynn for K McDermott, M Kelly for S Cunniffe, P Divilly for P Kearney, P Fahy for D Hennessy.

Referee - J Gilmartin.


Lahardane - J Mulhern; B Leonard, C Coleman, P O'Malley; P Coleman (0-1), M Queenan, C Rowland; T Dever (0-2), G Naughton (1-1); A Murphy, A Leonard (0-5, 3f), C Reilly (0-2); S Loftus (0-3, 1f), J Maughan (0-1), K Loftus. Subs: M Noone for A Murphy, G Mulhern for K Loftus, M Coleman for P Coleman.

Ballymote - G Feely; C McCann, D Clarke, K Meehan; R Flannery, M Doddy, A Caffrey; M Rafferty, C Byrne; C Meehan, N Cosh (0-1f), S Ross (0-1); J Heever (1-0), M Irwin, P Lyons (0-3f). Subs: K Tigue for C Meehan, N Brennan (1-0) for S Ross, G Rafferty for C Byrne, C Maguire for R Flannery. A Leonard (1-0og).

Referee - B Healy.

Most Read Stories