Joe Sheridan

http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/dculhane/joe-sheridan-part-solution-meath/

Crazy to think of this attitude! Any thoughts

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 13/07/2016 22:57:20    1882843

Replying To grahamc9897:  "http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/dculhane/joe-sheridan-part-solution-meath/

Crazy to think of this attitude! Any thoughts"
It's probably a bit late now but I wouldn't rule it out entirely.

I thought MO'D was too quick to get rid of Joe and Cian Ward among others.

That said, that article is written by a 19 year old and with all due respect to the young man there might be some naivity involved. I don't mean to discourage him, I wish him all the best with it.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 13/07/2016 23:21:49    1882846

Replying To grahamc9897:  "http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/dculhane/joe-sheridan-part-solution-meath/

Crazy to think of this attitude! Any thoughts"
Jaysus, they are desperate to fill space. Not even worth commenting on. Joe's day is gone at this level.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 13/07/2016 23:39:07    1882852

While I believe he maybe too old to return, the author makes a good point re leadership, this is really the main thing that happened under mid, I'm having a clean out is great, but who's the leaders then? In all honesty keoghan is a fantastic player, I mean top notch, but he isn't the type to bellow in a lads face to up their game, for one I think he is too young to be captain, and for two its not in his nature, where's the GG guy? Not in ability wise but the you bloody well do that again do you hear me, or that guy better not get past you next time, or come on are we really going to get beat by this lot? Where's your pride?
The author maybe young but he has pin pointed the two leaders on the pitch in Tobin and Burke, and while I was leaning towards Reilly been the new captain, I feel it has to be one of these two, simply cause they will get in a team mates face and rally the troops when the chips are down. Joe is not the answer, but we need someone like him,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2016 00:04:31    1882857

I don't know how many times I have mentioned on here that we have the wrong captain in this team especially last year after losing to Westmeath. My insights were mostly ignored. While Keoghan is a decent player he is not captain material.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 14/07/2016 00:53:55    1882873

Lack of leadership is a very valid point but as royaldunne said, Joe is not the answer and sadly we did have a second half collapse when he was on the pitch (Wexford 08 being a very painful reminder). That result wasn't his fault of course, just pointing out that it happened.

I think this Meath team more than any has suffered from a lack of leadership on the pitch and on the sideline. When things go wrong, everyone seems to be frozen with panic and there's not enough cool heads around to steady the ship.

A couple of older more experienced players can bring that calmness to a bad situation and I think whoever comes in might consider adding a couple to the squad.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/07/2016 09:33:44    1882919

Jaysus there is some amount of ageism in Meath.

While Joe might not have the legs now, he definitely could have done a job once or twice over the past 4 years as an impact sub at different stages against packed defences (Tyrone in Omagh last year for example). I know even now I'd rather have him over the likes of Dalton McDonagh for sure!

Ditto Cian Ward. I know there is a Cian Ward vendetta in Meath it seems, might be a bit too flashy. Must be the white boots or something. While he wasn't always terribly consistent, I can guarantee you that he did a lot more in a Meath jersey during his 4/5 years playing than S Tobin, E Wallace, J Wallace, D McDonagh or whoever were MOD's flavor of the month.

Brian Farrell was also discarded too early. As was Peadar Byrne.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 14/07/2016 09:49:17    1882930

Crinigan-Would agree with your post and add! Sheridan may still be better than any full forward that we have. Quigly a not dis-similar player with Fermanagh who is certainly no faster but equally effective and pushed our full back around a bit in the league match. Now the 19 year old's piece is equally as good or equally as poor as what one would expect from any journalist-certainly good for a 19 year old.

One week ago we were putting all the blame on the manager and now we are blaming the captain. I think many of the posts make for good entertainment but not to be taken seriously. Two players are mentioned for their leadership, one who is injured most of the time and the other (even though is a very good committed player)may be lucky to be on the team and would have serious problems with any fast forward in summer conditions. I do agree that the team need experience but you do not obtain that by putting many 19/20/ 21 year olds on the team/panel which has happened over the years. I say bring back Northmeathman as he was closer to the facts than most of the posts that I read

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/07/2016 11:01:05    1882975

I think the article is rubbish. Sherdian was part of teams that had second half collapses also. Saying that part from Mickey Burke and Donncha Tobin over the past 2 years Meath lacked leadership " Is rubbish also Tobin was injured a lot. And doesn't mention consistent performers Keoghan, Harnan and Rooney. The article is a non event for me.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 14/07/2016 11:04:17    1882977

Nothing at all wrong with playing Joe Sheridan. And I cite the greatest manager of recent times, Brian Cody. Last year when Jackie Tyrell was injured his place was given to 30 year old Shane Prendergast. Now who won the All Ireland last year - Kilkenny of course with Shane not letting the side down at No 4.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 14/07/2016 11:17:08    1882987

Replying To Crinigan:  "Jaysus there is some amount of ageism in Meath.

While Joe might not have the legs now, he definitely could have done a job once or twice over the past 4 years as an impact sub at different stages against packed defences (Tyrone in Omagh last year for example). I know even now I'd rather have him over the likes of Dalton McDonagh for sure!

Ditto Cian Ward. I know there is a Cian Ward vendetta in Meath it seems, might be a bit too flashy. Must be the white boots or something. While he wasn't always terribly consistent, I can guarantee you that he did a lot more in a Meath jersey during his 4/5 years playing than S Tobin, E Wallace, J Wallace, D McDonagh or whoever were MOD's flavor of the month.

Brian Farrell was also discarded too early. As was Peadar Byrne."
Joe or Peadar both would have been better options than Joey Wallace when he was brought on versus Armagh two years ago. I nearly walked out when I saw him coming on. No disrespect to the lad but his nimbleness and speed were not what was needed against Armagh on a wet day like that.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 14/07/2016 11:39:13    1883003

The Joe ship has long sailed.I understand the guys sentiments though.I would be focusing in trying to keep Shane O'Rourke fit for a season.Very good ball winner and although lacks pace,he is very clever in his movement..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/07/2016 11:42:13    1883005

this empathizes how bad we are .... embarrassing hes even being considered

RobertEmmet (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 14/07/2016 12:09:05    1883034

I always laugh at this, during the 2012/13 National League it was becoming evident both Sheridan and Ward were off form, supporters giving out yards about both of them, Joe was ineffective at any point he was introduced in the championship in 2013 and his last start against Tyrone was a sad way for him to bow out. I don't remember too many moaning or disagreeing at the time both were dropped off the panel, it was a decision based on form which was very apparent. Peader Byrne I would have kept possibly as he had strength and an eye for goal but sorry Joe and Cian were in my mind rightly dropped and to suggest that it was a mistake to drop them is wrong in my view.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/07/2016 12:13:14    1883038

Replying To Richieq:  "I always laugh at this, during the 2012/13 National League it was becoming evident both Sheridan and Ward were off form, supporters giving out yards about both of them, Joe was ineffective at any point he was introduced in the championship in 2013 and his last start against Tyrone was a sad way for him to bow out. I don't remember too many moaning or disagreeing at the time both were dropped off the panel, it was a decision based on form which was very apparent. Peader Byrne I would have kept possibly as he had strength and an eye for goal but sorry Joe and Cian were in my mind rightly dropped and to suggest that it was a mistake to drop them is wrong in my view."
Agree with the lack of dissenters at the time of their being dropped, would also agree that Peadar was worth keeping. Think it's a case of things looked better than they actually were!

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 14/07/2016 13:58:43    1883135

Replying To moylagh:  "Agree with the lack of dissenters at the time of their being dropped, would also agree that Peadar was worth keeping. Think it's a case of things looked better than they actually were!"
I totally disagree. I don't know if there was a lot of dissent on this forum but there was among a lot of dissent amongst the hardcore Meath supporters I know and indeed MOD's card was marked as a result. It was a disgraceful decision at the time, and now with hindsight, with the standard of forwards he has picked subsequently, its frankly outrageous. Sheridan and Farrel were only 28 at the time, Ward even younger. Peadar Byrne in late 20s. Nial McLougjlin a terrific footballer. Chris McGuinness. Players with experience in their prime discarded and unceremoniously dumped for the likes of what we saw brought on against Dublin and Armagh in the last few years, embarrassing Meath football.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 14/07/2016 14:57:03    1883197

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I think the article is rubbish. Sherdian was part of teams that had second half collapses also. Saying that part from Mickey Burke and Donncha Tobin over the past 2 years Meath lacked leadership " Is rubbish also Tobin was injured a lot. And doesn't mention consistent performers Keoghan, Harnan and Rooney. The article is a non event for me."
Harnan for the past two years was very average, in particular last year , and majority of posters would have dropped him, now this year he has been very good, and i think he os the epitome of what was wrong with mod, ie playing him in a position he didn't feel comfortable in, now perhaps Menton would be still on panel if same didn't happen to him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2016 15:08:15    1883216

Replying To Richieq:  "I always laugh at this, during the 2012/13 National League it was becoming evident both Sheridan and Ward were off form, supporters giving out yards about both of them, Joe was ineffective at any point he was introduced in the championship in 2013 and his last start against Tyrone was a sad way for him to bow out. I don't remember too many moaning or disagreeing at the time both were dropped off the panel, it was a decision based on form which was very apparent. Peader Byrne I would have kept possibly as he had strength and an eye for goal but sorry Joe and Cian were in my mind rightly dropped and to suggest that it was a mistake to drop them is wrong in my view."
Agreed,I wouldn't have a go at MOD for dropping most of those players.People go on about Farrell too,but he was clearly finished and said he was going to retire anyway!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/07/2016 15:21:40    1883240

Replying To Crinigan:  "I totally disagree. I don't know if there was a lot of dissent on this forum but there was among a lot of dissent amongst the hardcore Meath supporters I know and indeed MOD's card was marked as a result. It was a disgraceful decision at the time, and now with hindsight, with the standard of forwards he has picked subsequently, its frankly outrageous. Sheridan and Farrel were only 28 at the time, Ward even younger. Peadar Byrne in late 20s. Nial McLougjlin a terrific footballer. Chris McGuinness. Players with experience in their prime discarded and unceremoniously dumped for the likes of what we saw brought on against Dublin and Armagh in the last few years, embarrassing Meath football."
I do know what you are saying,
But lets look at it this way for a minute, picture last year against Westmeath they coming hammer and thong's at us we up by a point or two, and the announcer says number 17/18/26 is replacing an other, Joe Sheridan, Cian Ward, can you imagine the cheer the Meath support would give? But as I was it happened to be joey Wallace, (absolutely no disrespect to the lad , but hardly as much as a physiological boost as the other two? Same this year with Dalton McDonagh,. I actually did disagree with both been dropped along with byrne, and Farrell as I still thought they all had something to offer,FROM THE BENCH, not as starters as important impact subs, I last year advocated using bray as one and people started slating me saying I wanted to drop him, nothing could be further from the truth, what I wanted was to keep him another year or two, been sprung from bench with 30/25 to go would have done that, unfortunately we no longer have the players to get the crowds going this year, the only excited cheers came for Burke mostly when he went up field, keoghan if he dispossessed a player, Reilly for one of his runs or O'Sullivan. The rest lack any of the spark to ignite the atmosphere and in turn lift the team.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2016 15:26:17    1883243

I wrote something similar in an old post a few weeks back and I'm happy to see somebody else share the same opinion.

Joe and Ward were ripped apart on this, the chronicle and just plain talk among fans.

Farrell dropped himself off the panel so nothing could be done there.

Peadar Byrne I didn't agree with but sure as they say the boat has sailed

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 14/07/2016 15:31:13    1883249