Mod speaks in

O dowd was allowed to speak behind closed doors .
Is this another cop out to add to his "five" year plan ?
Can any one shed light on this ? must be one hell of a secret !!

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 02/09/2014 12:55:30    1646716

To be fair, not having the press in a meeting like that means there can be more frank exchanges and opinions aired without worrying what the press will say. I know it all sounds secretative but I would rather a frank meeting like that than either a choregraphed press conference or an all out row that makes Meath GAA look bad.

DowdtoFoleyGoal (Meath) - Posts: 292 - 02/09/2014 13:10:50    1646728

It's a joke, I don't know who's decision it was to refuse entry to the media while MOD was speaking but it was a poor one, also infuriating is the Cormac Reilly statement from the the PRO, it's red herring and nothing more.

We want to know what MOD had to say, that's the main issue here, the media weren't refused the previous two times so why this time??? I'm getting very frustrated with this current set up, it seems they want us in the dark all the bloody time!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/09/2014 13:14:30    1646736

Agree, there are always issues that are better dealt with in house, same goes for clubs, every meeting doesn't take place in the local for all and sundry to listen in

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 02/09/2014 13:20:31    1646747

Still would like to know some of the questions and answers to those questions.Instead we will go into next year not knowing what plans there are.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/09/2014 13:25:05    1646757

Not saying who should no everything,but some issues need to be outlined to fans..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/09/2014 13:28:14    1646766

don't know MOD would get the blame for the County Board not letting the press in....
take your vandetta's elsewhere

dubsout (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 02/09/2014 14:22:07    1646839

I understand that you can be more frank behind closed doors but by blocking access to the press after allowing them in the previous two times basically tells 'this is serious and we don't want yous to know'. Either allow the media in or don't when MOD addresses the CB but I don't like the picking and choosing.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/09/2014 14:41:34    1646866

The fact that whoever requested no media , CB or MOD , underlines the reality that his position is under huge strain ,i find this situation quite sad.
The CB are setting up barriers that they took down in the beginning of there appointment , I hope we're not going back to that , massive disconnect between supporter and management .

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 02/09/2014 15:30:11    1646923

In MOD's defence, I doubt he dictated the terms of this address. The county board are his bosses and while his job isnt really on the line, they definitely hold all the cards, and the media block was probably their call.

Short memories around here too, only 6 weeks ago everyone was giving out about MOD bringing something to the media's attention and "washing his dirty linen in public", saying that wasn't the Meath way. Now he does the opposite and its a disgrace and all this.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 02/09/2014 15:56:44    1646958

Catlebravo

This hardly the same situation..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/09/2014 16:41:39    1646997

CastleBravo

Short memories around here too, only 6 weeks ago everyone was giving out about MOD bringing something to the media's attention and "washing his dirty linen in public", saying that wasn't the Meath way. Now he does the opposite and its a disgrace and all this.

Ye that's not the same thing at all, for a start we don't even know if it was MOD who stopped the media from entering so we can't compare anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/09/2014 16:47:35    1647010

Your club delegate will be able to tell you what was discussed?

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 02/09/2014 17:59:00    1647083

Anyone that friendly with club delegates?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/09/2014 19:22:04    1647130

Castlebravo totally different situations and irrelevant.
At least a statement should have been made. This is becoming a white wash. The big losers in this are the loyal fans like us who fork out plenty of money to go to see Meath play. And then are treated like mushrooms (keep them in the dark and feed them s###).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/09/2014 09:00:53    1647264

Royaldunne ziggy are you guys not members of a club.Just ask your club and you will find out all that went on.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 03/09/2014 09:59:27    1647303

Mick deserves to just show the county delegates his side of what went wrong this year rather then the press publicising everything he says.

Taysty (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 03/09/2014 10:47:32    1647336

Poormouth

I am yes,but only a playing member and our season is over(poor season)

As a matter of interest do you know what went on yourself?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/09/2014 10:56:50    1647344

Poormouth. I'm not a member of any club in Meath and haven't been for a fair few years as I live and work outside the county, I am a season ticket holder and a member of club na mhi .. I think it is unfair on the likes of me and others who go to games religiously not to be given some information. A brief statement outlining bullet points of what was discussed and what plan of action is to be taken. I don't feel that is too much to ask for. When mod came in he said he was available at all times to not only cb but us the fans who follow this team from early Jan to whenever the journey ends. Yes when I go up home and have a chat with lads in my old club I'll be told their version of what went on , you will be told another, Ziggy another, Htaem another and so on. A statement outlying the facts would be much more appropriate than tittle tattle that are the worst form of Chinese whispers.
I after only missing one game this year (due to family bereavement) feel rightly or wrongly I deserve at least a statement and I'd go as far as to say everyone who got the soaking of their life in cp

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/09/2014 12:47:44    1647433

RD

I have already being told different versions of events by players on issues throughout the year for example.But one thing I will say(in Micko's defence),the media ban or failing to give the fans anything,may not be his fault.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/09/2014 18:07:56    1647632