Holiday period

Am I right in saying the Builders holidays and the two week match break run at the same time. We were informed that matches which needed to be payed to catch up on competitions, matches that were called off for whatever reason could be played during this time.
Why is it so that semi finals for a senior club competition would be fixed for midweek during this time, Its bloody nonsense again from our co board.

aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 18/07/2014 16:27:29    1621221

They can weasel out of it by saying its a championship free period. Though it is a bit snakey having important enough matches like league and knockout finals during this period.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 18/07/2014 19:41:57    1621300

A quick look at the Fixture Panner on Meath Website which in fairness has been followed fairly closely gives a Championship Feee Period from July 28th to August 4th.It also states that A and B Leagues will be played during those dates.

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 19/07/2014 14:48:16    1621496

So when are lads suppose to have holidays then!!games are meaningless in this period with teams fielding vastly under strength teams and we get cricket scores like last weeks really good for club football this is

Header33 (Meath) - Posts: 233 - 19/07/2014 15:13:34    1621505

like the majority of people in the construction industry these are our only time of the year to take holidays. Surely the co board can accommodate the vast amount of people who have this same problem....
Its not a league match. its a semi final of a senior competition. If they had any respect for the competition it would be played in Navan at the weekend and a bit of a deal made about it. The players are at the end of the day training for this all year.

aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 19/07/2014 17:11:22    1621538

There is no holiday period in any other county. IMO it's a disgrace that for 2 of the best summer weekends of the year we don't play championship in this county!!! Play football or hurling now or play it in Dunganny in nov/dec!!!

Redman7 (Meath) - Posts: 81 - 20/07/2014 10:38:44    1621785

Ahh stop lads , they are incredible , a run of games before the end of July ,

Are they on a bonus to finish before the end of july, //////

dnewlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 20/07/2014 14:00:27    1621858

Ah lads I don't know ..... Looking at it A league on 15 th 19th and 27th don't seem that crazy to me

noelpconnon (Cavan) - Posts: 209 - 20/07/2014 16:35:42    1621978

its the 5 week break prior to that ,

the league systems is all wrong too ,

there is teams giving walkover all over the place ,

no consideration for teams having to travel mid week

dnewlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 20/07/2014 16:41:56    1621986

Dnewlad........reckon you caught a few flys with that statement

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 20/07/2014 17:35:16    1622032

No matter what the county board do, someone is going to be dissatisfied. For the many grumbles I have about the county board, fixtures is not one of them. The master fixture list is to the most part adhered to and the holiday period is ideal for anyone with a family or partner that wants to go away for a week's holiday without fear of missing a championship match. I would have a problem with the amount of league games and the proportion of football to hurling games throughout the year at all levels for instance. Overall though, the fixture planner has been great especially since 2013 when it has been kept to for the most part.

mawmouther (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 21/07/2014 14:54:19    1623007

Anyone know what fixtures will be played the weekend of the 9th August? Hurling or football?

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 23/07/2014 11:52:07    1624701

All Ireland quarter final the following weekend so no fixtures the 9th I'd say.

GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 303 - 24/07/2014 10:34:47    1625127

They have fixed us to play hurling championship Friday evening, which is fine. They then have us down to play A league football on Sunday and hurling league semi final on Monday evening. I am a Moynalvey/Kiltale player and I understand it makes life a bit more difficult with fixtures but a little bit of cop on wouldnt go astray. Holiday Period!! Nonsense.

RegularJoe (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 24/07/2014 13:14:01    1625278

Maybe if clubs stop calling off games they wouldn't have to play at this time of the year. I know plenty of clubs who have played all their dual football/hurling games as fixed and now they've a nice relaxing week at the Galway races. Some clubs think they're great getting games called off earlier in the year, well it's coming back to bite them now. No sympathy for them.

Redman7 (Meath) - Posts: 81 - 24/07/2014 13:59:02    1625321

Redman,

Well that was very smug of you. None of these games are refixtures. The championship is 3rd round, not a refixture. The A league is 10th round, not a refixture, and the league semi in the hurling, not a refixture.

What games were called off? Clown.

RegularJoe (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 24/07/2014 15:34:01    1625412

Hurling rd 3 was two weeks ago so it was obviously moved. There was a div 1 hurling league semi on Tuesday so obviously Kiltale league semi had to be moved to prioritise SHC rd 3 game thus now league semi is next Monday. This is the chain reaction effect of not playing when fixed.

Redman7 (Meath) - Posts: 81 - 24/07/2014 18:16:53    1625515

Shows what u no kiltale had players involved with Meath so came was held up with them no called off,,I think it's a joke there's this many fixtures which used to b and should b a holiday period

Header33 (Meath) - Posts: 233 - 24/07/2014 19:05:19    1625539

Some shower of moany feckers on here. I dont think the fixtures have been in a better position than the last couple of years. The 2 week holiday period is an excellent idea and works almost perfectly. There will be a need to fit in a handful of games, but managers & players should expect that and work with whatever they have that week. Lets face it, championship is the main aim for everyone and so long as the 2 weeks are free from champo then its all good in my book.

GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 303 - 25/07/2014 16:37:00    1625918

goalswingames. Moany feckers is a bit harsh. Our club were led to believe that this period would be used by the fixtures committee to play matches that had been called off etc earlier in the year as a catch up period. we are now been asked to play a mid week semi final of a senior competition. its not all about championship from the clubs point of view, we want to try to win everything we can.
we now have 8 or more players who took this time as an opportunity for a holiday or family get away harshly rescinded
Remember this is an amateur sport played by hard working family people. a bit of common sense goes a long way.

aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 26/07/2014 11:04:03    1626052