Kildare's Ryan - Reilly Tackle

I read there about Jason Ryan having a dig at Reilly for the hard hit on one of his players (to hurt him)

Does he not remember the tackle Conway did on McMahon where the young lad was concussed as a result?
Hard hits are a part of championship football, so I don't see why he is cribbing about Reilly!

dubsout (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 08/07/2014 11:45:26    1615619

This is the second article where Kildare connections are supposedly complaining about the physicality of Meath players, seriously, what did they expect! In the week up to the match there was an article where one of their players was quoted as "expecting a physical game". Then when it happens some of the backroom team feign shock and surprise, I just don't get it! Is this stuff being made up by some bored writer?

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 08/07/2014 15:55:12    1615830

I have seen us far more physical too :0

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/07/2014 16:34:06    1615868

It's laughable from Kildare and all in an attempt to deflect the blame away from the players and management.
I didn't see a single challenge from a Meath player that was overly physical.
Kildare were outclassed and out-thought on the day.
As stated already McMahon went off with concussion and no Meath person complained and Joey Wallace was manhandled by his marker all day.
Meath had Carroll, McMahon, Wallace, Bray and McDonagh on the pitch who are not exactly going to be roughing up their opponents.

Royal_Gunner (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 08/07/2014 16:35:12    1615870

Being to Physical ha Why can't Kildare just take there beating
they are always whinging about something. i didnt think it was that fiery or physical especially the way Kildare played under McGeeney

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 08/07/2014 16:44:00    1615884

In fairness lads I haven't heard any Kildare fans moaning about physicality, except maybe our own lack of it. Jason has pointed the finger everywhere except at himself. His own decision making or lack of was a big part of that loss. He's not fooling any lily die yards with his comments.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 08/07/2014 21:01:43    1616052

jason ryan really letting himself down here. had alot of respect for the guy. funny when he overachieved with wex cant ever remember him moanin like that. man under a lot of pressure methinks

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 08/07/2014 21:10:04    1616058

Apparently Ryan is taking up knitting as gaelic football is too rough

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 08/07/2014 21:48:45    1616071

Conleth is correct,if Ryan sees an incident like that as his biggest problem in the game,well then he really does have problems. He should be concentrating on a difficult trip to Newry now..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 09/07/2014 09:27:31    1616122

Lads, you need to remove the green tinted glasses. The tackel in question was a bad act, knees into the chaps back. There was no chance of getting the ball and it was designed to injure the player. That wasn't hard/fair football in my opinion.
In fairness to Ryan maybe he is trying a little deflection tactic but I dont think he was suggesting it was the losing of the game.

GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 303 - 09/07/2014 09:49:14    1616133

This was a quote reported before the game:
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=219147

And this was after the game:
http://www.hoganstand.com/kildare/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=219622

So they were surprised by something that they were expecting. Seems strange.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 09/07/2014 12:08:53    1616241

I'd agree that it was a gratuitous and unnecessary act...similar to a case of a goalkeeper coming out and taking man and ball when it would be just as easy to catch the ball without colliding with the player.

However, I think Jason Ryan would be better served to keep quiet about it and use it for extra motivation in future. I've a feeling Meath and Kildare are going to meet again in this years champioinship in any case. As it is, it sounds like an admission of having being bullied off the field which is something they should keep internal.

The Kildare players werent exactly shrinking violets themselves and a few of them got stuck into McMahon which meant he went off concussed and the Kildare No. 6 put a few hits off the ball on young Wallace as well to soften him up. I don't think Meath people have a problem with that as traditionally we get on with it. (for eg Ollie Murphy had his arm broken against Galway in All Ireland of 2001 in what looked like a very deliberate act, Graham Geraghty got horrendous abuse including broken teeth again Cork in All Ireland semi a 4/5 years ago, Donal Keoghan got done in by Ross Munnellys knee against Laois in a qualifier 2 years ago as well...we got on with it)

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 09/07/2014 12:30:24    1616263

I totally agree with GoalsWinGames, the referee would've been within his rights to send off Kevin. It could've been costly to Meath as we were comfortably winning the game! I had a perfect view of it and it was a very bad needless knee in the back. Its true that we have been on the receiving end of "tackles" like these in the past, but it doesn't make it right.

Meath are known as a hard hitting team and this bunch of players maybe need to be more physical, but we need to be smarter with our tackling. Risking needless red or black cards could be costly in future.

With regards to Ryan's comments, it does look bad as a headline but he was correct in what he said. It wouldn't have affected the result and its better to say nothing after a defeat ... Bring on the Dubs!

wideasagate (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 10/07/2014 12:47:56    1616769

royal69er

jason ryan really letting himself down here. had alot of respect for the guy. funny when he overachieved with wex cant ever remember him moanin like that. man under a lot of pressure methinks

Over achieved with Wexford? He brought them to two Leinster Finals(first since 1956) and an all Ireland Semi-final (first since 1945). He also won the Division three title. Not too many teams are ten points down at half-time and come back and win the match and this where football plays second fiddle to hurling.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/07/2014 17:44:16    1616980

Fair play to the posters here who condemned the tackle by Reilly rather than just call Kildare whingers. It didn't cause Kildare to lose the match but it certainly ended Brophy's part in it. Knees to the back is not a manly tackle in any code.
No one in Kildare is saying that Meath were too physical but rather lamenting our own lack of same and our poor game plan. Ryan is under pressure after the poor season we have had so far and obviously will look to deflect attention from his own shortcomings.
Any way best of luck in the final and maybe ye could cheer on our minors especially if we are against Dublin!

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 10/07/2014 18:23:58    1617001

Yeah I 'd agree that it was a poor tackle, but can we move on. I can't believe Kevin Reilly has got himself involved in the aftermath commentary. Should just move on and concentrate on the Leinster Final. Jason Ryan should move on also thinking of Newry. Tackles have been dished out to and from Meath players in the past, and I'm sure they'll happen in the future. Not that it makes them right, but can we just drive on and think about the possibility of dethroning the Dubs, Sunday week.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 11/07/2014 20:08:38    1617553

Blatant attempt here to bring a player into the limelight before a final..

Contact sport - get over it

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 11/07/2014 20:39:18    1617567

Amazing how we have so much talk and attention to this..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 11/07/2014 20:56:11    1617584

Love the dig o dowd had at Ryan

royalgaz (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 12/07/2014 08:11:10    1617620

usual post match tripe...maybe Kildare need to toughen up

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 12/07/2014 11:54:05    1617699