Leinster Championship 2017 Discussion

I think that we are due a thread now on the upcoming Leinster Championship.

Any update on the panel? From the teamsheet and subs that were named against Down it looks like there could have been some additions to the squad.

Is the game against Cavan in Ballinlough the only other friendly against another county?

Team wise it looks fairly stable. I would reckon that Mickey Newman and Ronan Jones could be pushing for a starting place on the team that finished the league.

Any thoughts?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 03/05/2017 09:51:38    1984132

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "I think that we are due a thread now on the upcoming Leinster Championship.

Any update on the panel? From the teamsheet and subs that were named against Down it looks like there could have been some additions to the squad.

Is the game against Cavan in Ballinlough the only other friendly against another county?

Team wise it looks fairly stable. I would reckon that Mickey Newman and Ronan Jones could be pushing for a starting place on the team that finished the league.

Any thoughts?"
Based on his performances for Simonstown & U21s, I would also expect Brían Conlon to be very, very close to starting.

Maybe the fact that he was involved with U21s and didn't play during the league that might come against him, but I would expect him to be a regular starter very soon and I wouldn't be at all surprised if he starts against Wicklow/Louth.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 03/05/2017 12:13:31    1984186

At the minute on current form id go

POR

Keogan
McGill
Tobin

McEntee
Power
Harnan

Menton
Jones

J McEntee
COS
Biggy

McMahon
Newman
Lenihan

Still think the half back line is vulnerable, although we dont have many other options. I'd maybe even stick Conlon in ahead of Power if he can get some game time between now and the first round.

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 03/05/2017 18:05:02    1984283

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "At the minute on current form id go

POR

Keogan
McGill
Tobin

McEntee
Power
Harnan

Menton
Jones

J McEntee
COS
Biggy

McMahon
Newman
Lenihan

Still think the half back line is vulnerable, although we dont have many other options. I'd maybe even stick Conlon in ahead of Power if he can get some game time between now and the first round."
What's the story with Wallace's? Are they still on panel. I would pretty much agree with That , however I think we will play 4 half forwards, meaning Reilly will be named as ff.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/05/2017 18:46:15    1984289

Replying To BarneysTie:  "Based on his performances for Simonstown & U21s, I would also expect Brían Conlon to be very, very close to starting.

Maybe the fact that he was involved with U21s and didn't play during the league that might come against him, but I would expect him to be a regular starter very soon and I wouldn't be at all surprised if he starts against Wicklow/Louth."
How many games has Conlon played for Simonstown this year ?? Or are you basing what you say on performances with his club 7 month ago ?

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 04/05/2017 07:49:26    1984342

Replying To royaldunne:  "What's the story with Wallace's? Are they still on panel. I would pretty much agree with That , however I think we will play 4 half forwards, meaning Reilly will be named as ff."
Conlon all day long and needs to play. He is the best CB in club football last year and Power unfortunately would not lace his boots. There needs to be presence in the position and he would supply it. Team looks good and it is a no brainer that Jones needs to start also. Blood these lads now as it has to happen sooner rather than later. Both Jones and Conlon add much needed physique but are also excellent ball players. Also Newman needs to step it up this year also, great player and needs to start fulfilling his potential

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 04/05/2017 07:51:39    1984343

Replying To pretender:  "Conlon all day long and needs to play. He is the best CB in club football last year and Power unfortunately would not lace his boots. There needs to be presence in the position and he would supply it. Team looks good and it is a no brainer that Jones needs to start also. Blood these lads now as it has to happen sooner rather than later. Both Jones and Conlon add much needed physique but are also excellent ball players. Also Newman needs to step it up this year also, great player and needs to start fulfilling his potential"
Christ above the delusion here is shocking!! Conlon has had 1 good year at club level and all of a sudden hes the best thing since sliced bread!! People went on the same in the past and players were not near the standard required. Leave Conlon get eased into it, Power had more than stepped up as the league went on at CB and easily deserves his chance. He's no doubt a very good player and deserves a chance from the bench to get a taste of the action but hes by no means the finished article and definitely not above Power lacing his boots!!!

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 04/05/2017 09:42:39    1984378

Replying To Analyst:  "How many games has Conlon played for Simonstown this year ?? Or are you basing what you say on performances with his club 7 month ago ?"
Ok, so you're dismissing him because he hasn't been playing in the famous man-making battle-ground that is Meath All-County A League? Right.

Yes, I'm basing it on what I saw of him last year in Meath and also in the Leinster Club against Rhode when he was outstanding. He would have played in the League for Meath had he not been with the U21s, and the fact that Andy brought him straight into the panel shows he rates him.

He's clearly one of the best defenders in Meath even at this early stage so I would imagine he'll be very close to starting. I don't know if you could throw him straight in at 6 but I'd say maybe wing-back would be a good place to start.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 04/05/2017 10:56:16    1984411

Replying To BarneysTie:  "Ok, so you're dismissing him because he hasn't been playing in the famous man-making battle-ground that is Meath All-County A League? Right.

Yes, I'm basing it on what I saw of him last year in Meath and also in the Leinster Club against Rhode when he was outstanding. He would have played in the League for Meath had he not been with the U21s, and the fact that Andy brought him straight into the panel shows he rates him.

He's clearly one of the best defenders in Meath even at this early stage so I would imagine he'll be very close to starting. I don't know if you could throw him straight in at 6 but I'd say maybe wing-back would be a good place to start."
Never said I was dismissing him. You said " based on his performances for Simonstown " and given he has hardly played for his club ( along with all the rest of squad) I was curious if I had missed something. I do seriously rate him but I did see Meath U 21's on 3 occasions and he stood out on none, his red card against Westmeath reflected poorly also. As previous poster said don't jump the gun just yet

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 04/05/2017 12:01:35    1984430

Replying To ratlag:  "Christ above the delusion here is shocking!! Conlon has had 1 good year at club level and all of a sudden hes the best thing since sliced bread!! People went on the same in the past and players were not near the standard required. Leave Conlon get eased into it, Power had more than stepped up as the league went on at CB and easily deserves his chance. He's no doubt a very good player and deserves a chance from the bench to get a taste of the action but hes by no means the finished article and definitely not above Power lacing his boots!!!"
18 years of age or whatever he is and winning a county medal playing at centre back, there must be very few of these. Huge performance all year and even against Rhode. I see no reason why he would not start, age should be no barrier. Pound for pound best CB there is there so play the chap and quick the messing with nurse him or ease him onto the team.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 04/05/2017 13:11:33    1984447

Replying To pretender:  "18 years of age or whatever he is and winning a county medal playing at centre back, there must be very few of these. Huge performance all year and even against Rhode. I see no reason why he would not start, age should be no barrier. Pound for pound best CB there is there so play the chap and quick the messing with nurse him or ease him onto the team."
Ah lad, you didn't adhere to the golden rule. Ratoath players are amazing and should never be criticised. Do not, whatever you do, question why in the bejaysus the Meath team is full of them!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 04/05/2017 13:46:18    1984459

Replying To pretender:  "18 years of age or whatever he is and winning a county medal playing at centre back, there must be very few of these. Huge performance all year and even against Rhode. I see no reason why he would not start, age should be no barrier. Pound for pound best CB there is there so play the chap and quick the messing with nurse him or ease him onto the team."
One good year at senior level? Thats one more than all the Ratoath players then.

He was fantastic in the county final and against Rhode in the leinster club. There's definitely a place for him somewhere on the team or among the top 5 subs.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 04/05/2017 13:52:02    1984465

Replying To Crinigan:  "Ah lad, you didn't adhere to the golden rule. Ratoath players are amazing and should never be criticised. Do not, whatever you do, question why in the bejaysus the Meath team is full of them!"
Ah here, I was wondering when the Ratoath bashing would begin!! While Conlon had an excellent year at club level last year when he was with the U21's as was previously pointed out he was by no mean head and shoulders above anyone else!!

Is he a talented footballer??? Yes
Is he a walk in to the starting line up?? No (in my opinion)

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 04/05/2017 14:54:31    1984487

He was a standout for Simonstown in 2015 too, himself and McGrath the WHB i believe.

Christ if he's good enough he's old enough. Did we question Boylan for making a call on throwing three 19 year olds in against the dubs in 1996 after they'd beaten us by 10 points in 1995. Look how those guys turned out in the next five years,. Age is not a barrier to getting into a team.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 04/05/2017 15:05:44    1984491

Replying To ratlag:  "Ah here, I was wondering when the Ratoath bashing would begin!! While Conlon had an excellent year at club level last year when he was with the U21's as was previously pointed out he was by no mean head and shoulders above anyone else!!

Is he a walk in to the starting line up?? No (in my opinion)"
People moaning about Ratoath players is beyond tiresome at this point. Last year everyone was blaming MOD for having too many of them in there. Andy has retained all of them (I think). Clearly they are good enough to be on the panel if 2 managers have decided so. That's good enough for me.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 04/05/2017 15:23:25    1984495

Replying To ratlag:  "Ah here, I was wondering when the Ratoath bashing would begin!! While Conlon had an excellent year at club level last year when he was with the U21's as was previously pointed out he was by no mean head and shoulders above anyone else!!

Is he a walk in to the starting line up?? No (in my opinion)"
The poster you quoted has a well known issue with Ratoath. I wouldn't mind him.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 04/05/2017 15:26:46    1984496

It is funny how the amount of Ratoath players in the squad was often used as a stick to beat MOD with and was evidence that he was a poor manager. Now McEntee has come in, the same players are there.
And obviously, they all complain about the players being there, but are never able to say who should replace them in the squad.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 04/05/2017 15:30:34    1984499

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "It is funny how the amount of Ratoath players in the squad was often used as a stick to beat MOD with and was evidence that he was a poor manager. Now McEntee has come in, the same players are there.
And obviously, they all complain about the players being there, but are never able to say who should replace them in the squad."
McGill - Dan O'Neill
Power - Brian Conlan
Cian O'Brien - Ronan Jnes
Eamonn Wallace - James McEntee
Bryan McMahon - Daire Rowe or David McLoghlin

Now obviously all those players are within or on the fringes of the panel and until such time as Andy puts out a championship team we can't say who or who shouldn't be involved. But could we ever stop the constant Ratoath bashing and get behind the team. Its beyond tiresome and lazy from people. It'll not be long before we get the other lazy comment of not enough north meath players which is another BS excuse. I'm from North meath originally and whilst Kells have done well in recent years they've no standout players banging down the doors for inclusion.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 04/05/2017 16:09:13    1984509

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "It is funny how the amount of Ratoath players in the squad was often used as a stick to beat MOD with and was evidence that he was a poor manager. Now McEntee has come in, the same players are there.
And obviously, they all complain about the players being there, but are never able to say who should replace them in the squad."
That was the one thing that wreck my head when MOD was is charge and I'm not even from Ratoath. 4 or 5 of them could be starting for Meath but people would still criticise him for having so many Ratoath lads, what can he do if so many talented players come from the one club, "LIsten I know your a good player but the quota of players from your club has already been reached". Then you would ask them well who would you pick instead of them, they would reply with some nonsense or "well I'm not in charge of the team, thats what the management should be looking for.

Even at the start of the year when we weren't doing so well people were asking why there was only one player from the county champions on the panel. 2 were asked and one was with the u21s, so what do people want, just bring in some lad from Stown just so we can say we have a few players from the county champions. It is absolute nonsense.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 04/05/2017 16:34:45    1984523

I don't think anyone would disagree that the rathoath players are there on merit, but I also think the fact that mod played j Wallace in a Leinster final at 18 and that experience destroyed him is probably what was wrong, he still isn't a starter and while he has improved that was plainly wrong. Also e Wallace hasn't improved since stand out year 1, I wouldn't say there will be 5 rathoath players on Meath team when we chasing a big game this year . But I will say this clearly if there is 15 players from rathoath or wherever on Meath team, once they best we have and perform and win for Meath I couldn't give a monkeys behind.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/05/2017 16:37:28    1984524