Meath Hurling 2017

Replying To Wedgie:  "In all fairness JT probably knew he was off the panel when he failed to make himself available for the league final, the text would merely have confirmed this

He would have had discussions with both management teams in the run up to this, he can't honestly be surprised by any of this."
http://hoganstand.com/forum/FindPostPage.aspx?MessageID=1978903

Apology accepted.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 14/04/2017 21:40:54    1979471

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "I think most people are missing the point here. Tohers statement was dealing with with the manner in which he was dropped - by text. Not the fact he was dropped at all. Weather you've been on a panel for 6 years or 6 days, to get dropped by text is completely unacceptable. Fair play to Ennis for taking a stand and sticking with the lads who are fully committed, by he's gone down in my estimation after not evening giving Toher a phone call."
Absolutely and I think it will come back to bite them. Highly unlikely that Toher will play again for Meath under this regime.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 14/04/2017 22:45:14    1979485

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Absolutely and I think it will come back to bite them. Highly unlikely that Toher will play again for Meath under this regime."
Unlikely to feature under any regime in either code if he keeps running off to the press with half truths every time he has a falling out with management.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 15/04/2017 08:51:55    1979503

What time is the Kerry game throwing in next week?

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 15/04/2017 11:37:39    1979516

Replying To Wedgie:  "What time is the Kerry game throwing in next week?"
3pm throw it I think

billyjack24 (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 15/04/2017 12:35:36    1979529

Few Things lost here , Toher made a statement saying that he was dropped by text !
Ennis says in his statement that he told Toher the previous Sunday during a phone conversation that he would not be in the championship squad !
I do not think Ennis is telling lies !!!!!
Any challange matches this weekend for the hurlers ?
This weekend would be the last opportunity to play one ,

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 15/04/2017 14:04:12    1979545

Replying To gardentree:  "Few Things lost here , Toher made a statement saying that he was dropped by text !
Ennis says in his statement that he told Toher the previous Sunday during a phone conversation that he would not be in the championship squad !
This weekend would be the last opportunity to play one ,"
The Facts:
The whole chronicle thing was just about paper sales. The players knew their position when they chose to throw their lot in with the footballers. The TEXT JT received was just confirmation of what he already knew and delivery was only delayed to avoid distraction before the final and was successful in that. Shrewd.
JT made the decision to do the interview for other reasons, only he could explain and in spite of advice to the contrary. He then compounded it by issuing a statement which was completely unnecessary. He and MB knew the position all week prior to the Wicklow game.
This in not about either players ability or commitment. It's about team harmony, moral and commitment to a cause.
MB took a similar stance last year Meath still won CR and in 2017 promotion without full commitment of either player.
Gavin McGowan did the same this season for u21 footballers and did not feature in NHL til Meath lost.

So let's be clear. The decision to commit to either code is the players decision NOT the manager's. This has always been so in spite of "talk" of managers as far back as Sean Boylan banning players from playing Hurling.
Martin Ennis has worked to his own plan, makes his own decisions and so far most of them have been positive.
So here's to Sunday and a good start as Meath contest their own provincial c'ship which should be an annual event - not once every 14 years. Now theres something Meath GAA supporters should get their delegates to tackle.

Real.gael (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 19/04/2017 10:03:05    1980683

Replying To gardentree:  "Few Things lost here , Toher made a statement saying that he was dropped by text !
This weekend would be the last opportunity to play one ,"
The Facts:
The whole chronicle thing was just about paper sales. The players knew their position when they chose to throw their lot in with the footballers. The TEXT JT received was just confirmation of what he already knew and delivery was only delayed to avoid distraction before the final and was successful in that. Shrewd.
JT made the decision to do the interview for other reasons, only he could explain and in spite of advice to the contrary. He then compounded it by issuing a statement which was completely unnecessary. He and MB knew the position all week prior to the Wicklow game.
This in not about either players ability or commitment. It's about team harmony, moral and commitment to a cause.
MB took a similar stance last year Meath still won CR and in 2017 promotion without full commitment of either player.
Gavin McGowan did the same this season for u21 footballers and did not feature in NHL til Meath lost.

So let's be clear. The decision to commit to either code is the players decision NOT the manager's. This has always been so in spite of "talk" of managers as far back as Sean Boylan banning players from playing Hurling.
Martin Ennis has worked to his own plan, makes his own decisions and so far most of them have been positive.
So here's to Sunday and a good start as Meath contest their own provincial c'ship which should be an annual event - not once every 14 years. Now theres something Meath GAA supporters should get their delegates to tackle.

Real.gael (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 19/04/2017 10:14:44    1980687

Replying To Real.gael:  "The Facts:

So here's to Sunday and a good start as Meath contest their own provincial c'ship which should be an annual event - not once every 14 years. Now theres something Meath GAA supporters should get their delegates to tackle."
Well said Real.Geal
Really looking forward to Sundays match. Last weeks news is old news now and is confined to history so lets all move on.
I am Sure Martin Ennis his management team and squad have moved on.
I drove to Dunganny last night to watch the team training but they were not training,
are they training tonight ??? would love to see how the boys are moving before the Kerry match.
It will be very interesting to see what starting 15 the hurling management pick !!
They have a wealth of talent available to pick from in the forward division, To pick 6 from Sullivan,Heffernan,Farrell,J.Kelly,Clynch,McGowan,Gannon,J.Keena,K.Keena,McCabe,D. Rielly and Quigley is some task for Ennis and his selectors. Looking back at my league programs all of the players mentioned have started in the forwards during the league campaign, add in Damien Healy and it is some selection headache. That is 13 players on the squad that have all contributed and started in the forwards during the league campaign

I would go with , Clynch,Heffernan,Gannon,J Kelly,and two Keena's , up front,
Ford and Healy at 8 and 9
Keogan,D.Kelly,Brennan at 5/6/7 and C. Reilly, Whitty and Geraghty at 2/3/4

what would you guys go for ?

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 19/04/2017 10:57:02    1980702

Replying To gardentree:  "Well said Real.Geal
Really looking forward to Sundays match. Last weeks news is old news now and is confined to history so lets all move on.
I am Sure Martin Ennis his management team and squad have moved on.
I drove to Dunganny last night to watch the team training but they were not training,
are they training tonight ??? would love to see how the boys are moving before the Kerry match.
It will be very interesting to see what starting 15 the hurling management pick !!
They have a wealth of talent available to pick from in the forward division, To pick 6 from Sullivan,Heffernan,Farrell,J.Kelly,Clynch,McGowan,Gannon,J.Keena,K.Keena,McCabe,D. Rielly and Quigley is some task for Ennis and his selectors. Looking back at my league programs all of the players mentioned have started in the forwards during the league campaign, add in Damien Healy and it is some selection headache. That is 13 players on the squad that have all contributed and started in the forwards during the league campaign

I would go with , Clynch,Heffernan,Gannon,J Kelly,and two Keena's , up front,
Ford and Healy at 8 and 9
Keogan,D.Kelly,Brennan at 5/6/7 and C. Reilly, Whitty and Geraghty at 2/3/4

what would you guys go for ?"
You'd drop Sullivan after scoring 3-5 from play in the league final?

Have you been drinking?

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 19/04/2017 11:29:31    1980721

Replying To begining:  "You'd drop Sullivan after scoring 3-5 from play in the league final?

Have you been drinking?"
O F--K I forgot Sullivan , Just goes to show the talent Ennis has available to him when I forgot about him , I would put in Sullivan and take K.Keena out.

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 19/04/2017 14:54:29    1980813

any debutants in the hunt of a start on sunday? looking forward to the game now, should be a great buzz in navan!!

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 19/04/2017 22:27:58    1980943

the team that takes the field on Sunday will be all Debutantes to the leinster championship apart from Stephen Clynch assuming he startts.

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 20/04/2017 15:35:34    1981178

Replying To dickie10:  "any debutants in the hunt of a start on sunday? looking forward to the game now, should be a great buzz in navan!!"
I'm really looking forward to this one and in all my years following Meath Hurling I've never felt more confident going into a big game.
This current squad could really upset the odds and go all the way, I really believe we can beat Kerry and Westmeath and at least give the others a good run for their money.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 20/04/2017 18:17:03    1981234

Big step up for Meath tomorrow, what with going to this from being used to playing in 2B. Paddy Power has Kerry odds on at 4/11, Meath are at 5/2 (draw 10/1). Would be great if the lads could get a win to keep the feel good factor currently around Meath hurling going.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 21/04/2017 09:49:57    1981351

Just seen the starting 15 for tomorrow, looks a very strong team and a very strong bench ,
Gearghty unlucky ?
Healy at 3 ?
big calls from Ennis

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 22/04/2017 18:19:29    1981718

I expect a serious effort from meath today like the 1st round of any championship and I do expect the game to be close enough. If meath can be within touching distance with 15 to go we will have a real chance. Home venue has to be worth a few scores. To lose with be disappointing as then we are looking to a battle of survival at this grade

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 23/04/2017 10:00:07    1981818

I just hope that all 15 (plus subs) keep the heads for the 70 minutes. They'll be up for it but it'll be sickening if we end up having to play with 14 men for a portion of the game.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 23/04/2017 12:02:06    1981844

Is jack regan not on the panel or not committing....seems a big absentee

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 23/04/2017 12:15:03    1981846

Preddan Jack has not been with the squad for well over a year now.

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 24/04/2017 06:54:32    1982055