Meath v Donegal

Replying To giveballaghback:  "Jaysus lads when was the Connacht final played, I was so looking forward to it, what was the final score?"
LOL

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 04/07/2017 08:50:45    2010131

Interesting that only a few weeks ago people where say that Newman no where near getting on the panel. And Andy only played him in challenges because it was his home club. Now the world and his mother want him to start against Donegal ?? Despite having no played county level for the past 7 months, was the last game he played against Derry 2016 ? Anyway he cant be match fit and I think its just to much pressure on him he is a confidence player and would better coming off the bench. People will be giving out you know want if starts and dose not score 5 points form play.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 04/07/2017 09:01:47    2010138

What are the chances of even a mildly entertaining match on Saturday for the paying supporters ???? After all the reason most people attend matches is to be entertained by the football they witness. It is not surprising that RTE went without hesitation i would think for Mayo V Clare

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 04/07/2017 09:16:43    2010147

Replying To nobull456:  "Dont think we should engage in excuses in advance for any player. I would expect Newman will get special attention for example,but i believe he will handle it. .In fact all our players will get special attention for this match...What else would you expect? If Andy believes any one player will not be able to deliver under presure...then dont play him..or use him as a fresh sub with 10 mins to go if needed.regardless. Sure i could play myself as long as the opposition players dont challenge me .Just one problem... i lost my boots ....now there is a good excuse ....on mature reflection maybe not.. I dont know, maybe if you use this forum too much you get a bit silly.....Im off... .as the man on LMFM says Bye Bye now !!"
Yeah, I agree. If Biggie is been singled out we should complain to Donegal not to be such bullies and let run up and down the field and kick scores at will. Listen every manager has plan to deal with top players. Colm copper in the past. Sure is Conor Mcmanus not double marked every time he goes out ? And still manages to put in decent performances.etc etc.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 04/07/2017 09:20:11    2010151

Replying To Barney123:  "I'm not going to even comment on the first part of your post but RD come on, your watching too much soccer. That challenge was extremely unlikely to break his leg, he just left his leg out to trip him up to stop him advancing towards goal. It wasn't a two footed lunge to win the ball from biggys feet."
Sorry to inform you, I dont watch soccer. You that long on here and you didn't know that. Again all the talk from Donegal is stopping Reilly. If he as bad as some think , why oh why do they think that ?? Serious question.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/07/2017 09:57:14    2010172

Replying To Barney123:  "I'm not going to even comment on the first part of your post but RD come on, your watching too much soccer. That challenge was extremely unlikely to break his leg, he just left his leg out to trip him up to stop him advancing towards goal. It wasn't a two footed lunge to win the ball from biggys feet."
Also the speed biggie was going at, yes it could have broke his leg, similar to what happened to burke fee years ago (ok that wasnt deliberately)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/07/2017 10:00:07    2010175

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "Ok so I'm a lifetime supporting Meath, from the grim 70's and early 80's to the glory years of the late 80's and through the 90's. I've seen days when I swore I would never go to another match only to turn up the next day and curse myself for not listening to myself a week earlier.
However I can honestly say that last Saturdays match was a new low for me, watching two teams try to play a brand of football that was completely foreign to them and which goes against their traditional strengths.

Sligo can honestly feel they left a result behind them as Meath were there for the taking but the qualifiers are a strange animal and winning is all its about.

If Meath play as badly next Saturday then it doesn't matter which Donegal team turn up, they will win.

Whilst I am happy to see Andy McEntee take charge and am happy for him to be given time to get things right, he is a man under pressure because at the moment too many mistakes are being made. The most glaring last week was how long it took to bring Newman onto the pitch. With a strong wind behind us, he was needed to take the frees and he could have won us the match a lot earlier as we were kicking frees short into the goalkeepers hands. However when he did come on he was being asked to track back and a lot of his possession was deep in our own half where he was not going to do much damage. He must play next week but stay in the full forward line to allow him run into space and at least provide an option for players up the pitch to pick him out.

As for the match on Saturday, I will go not with any great optimism, but a small part of me still believing that faced with a strong challenge, our players will respond and just maybe we can turn this season around."
Great post, could have written that myself.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 04/07/2017 10:02:19    2010177

Replying To royaldunne:  "Donegal dont care about Newman or Sullivan the only care about Reilly. That is all. Now been the only player who has proven himself a really top player that's not surprising. They will target him as Sligo did, what was your opinion on the trip he got on Saturday? One of the worst tackles I have seen in a long time. And all Sligo got was a black card. Not defending Connolly but he got 12 weeks for a little shove , this could have easily broken Reilly's leg."
One of the worst tackles you have seen in a long time...Royaldunne come on!! Don't be so petty ! Seen 1000 worse tackles ! You make a lot of good points but these silly comments?? Let it go

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 04/07/2017 10:07:50    2010180

From a Meath perspective I'd be weary of putting faith in an under-cooked Newman at FF. Don't get me wrong, he's a very good player and a great free-taker. But as bad as we were last Saturday, Neil McGee looked back to be back to his aggressive no-nonsense self.

Graham Reilly is an interesting one. Obviously someone with pace will be needed to track him. I'd be in agreement that if we can curtail him it'll go a long way in tilting the match in our favour. I'd like to see Kieran Gillespie given the job, but he has had a few niggly injuries and didn't see any game time the last day. Could maybe be Caolan Ward. He has an athletic background and has the defensive discipline to track him.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 04/07/2017 10:12:23    2010185

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry to inform you, I dont watch soccer. You that long on here and you didn't know that. Again all the talk from Donegal is stopping Reilly. If he as bad as some think , why oh why do they think that ?? Serious question."
Royaldunne will you just give it a break ! Let's wait and see what happens ? If Biggy is good enough they won't stop him and we will win the match ! Great players don't allow themselves to be marked out of the game ! I have full faith he will perform so let's leave it at that !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 04/07/2017 10:27:04    2010197

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Interesting that only a few weeks ago people where say that Newman no where near getting on the panel. And Andy only played him in challenges because it was his home club. Now the world and his mother want him to start against Donegal ?? Despite having no played county level for the past 7 months, was the last game he played against Derry 2016 ? Anyway he cant be match fit and I think its just to much pressure on him he is a confidence player and would better coming off the bench. People will be giving out you know want if starts and dose not score 5 points form play."
Bobkarlgees Fair point you would have to question his match fitnes for 70 mins no doubt. We need his leadership badly. I say start him ,and see how it goes anyway. Probably would not be still in the championship without him last day

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 04/07/2017 10:36:35    2010214

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Interesting that only a few weeks ago people where say that Newman no where near getting on the panel. And Andy only played him in challenges because it was his home club. Now the world and his mother want him to start against Donegal ?? Despite having no played county level for the past 7 months, was the last game he played against Derry 2016 ? Anyway he cant be match fit and I think its just to much pressure on him he is a confidence player and would better coming off the bench. People will be giving out you know want if starts and dose not score 5 points form play."
Mickey Newman on his worst day is better than most of our forwards

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 04/07/2017 10:37:47    2010215

Will both counties be allowed wear their own colours on Sat or will they have to go with provincial colours?
Anytime I remember games in the league, both teams swap to away strips (Meath yellow & Donegal White), but the championship games I remember they revert to provincial colours (Meath green & White & Donegal Amber & Black). Is there a change due on Saturday? Is there actually a need given that the kits have their colours the opposite way around... Although, given whats due to happen on Saturday with area being overcrowded with both teams it may be no harm for completely different kits.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 04/07/2017 11:14:01    2010249

Replying To Jinxie:  "Will both counties be allowed wear their own colours on Sat or will they have to go with provincial colours?
Anytime I remember games in the league, both teams swap to away strips (Meath yellow & Donegal White), but the championship games I remember they revert to provincial colours (Meath green & White & Donegal Amber & Black). Is there a change due on Saturday? Is there actually a need given that the kits have their colours the opposite way around... Although, given whats due to happen on Saturday with area being overcrowded with both teams it may be no harm for completely different kits."
Do Donegal still wear the white away jersey, if so its my thinking they will be in this?? We defo both wont be in our own home colours.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 04/07/2017 12:30:17    2010336

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Do Donegal still wear the white away jersey, if so its my thinking they will be in this?? We defo both wont be in our own home colours."
Yeah they wear it in the League. Wore white v us in the last 3 league meeting since 2010 anyway, but there used to be a rule that with a colour clash for Championship games that counties must revert to the provincial colours, hence the all green in 2002 & Donegal in Amber & Black.
However, in 03, 04 & 07 we played Fermanagh and they just switched to away kits.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 04/07/2017 12:38:22    2010346

Biggy is one of our best players along with keoghan and menton to compair him with gerathy and giles is unfair as that team had far better players than now to carry the team other than keoghan and maybe menton not one player on this team would make the subs bench on those all ireland winning team and lads wanting us to play meath style football are living in the past as i heard lads say leaving the game on sat i cant watch that kerry and dublin wont play like that well wake up lads look at the players andy has to choose from its very low standard i would love to see us play angled kick passes up the field to forwards who would win the ball beat there man and score but the players out the field arent good enough to kick pass and bar leniahan forwards are not up to it thats just the facts we havent done anything in yearx to suggest we can play good attacking football but donegal seem to have lost there way and with 110% effort and a little luck we could beat them but if they play murphy ff he could do real damage

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 04/07/2017 12:47:56    2010352

Is there anywhere to watch this match? RTE are showing Clare vs Mayo, SKY Kilkenny vs Waterford and GAAGo is showing both those matches but not ours!

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 04/07/2017 12:49:32    2010355

When The Cilles were playing Westport in the final in Croke park, we couldn't figure out who was supporting what county it was a nightmare..the Cilles changed into their white jersey but the fans just looked all the same. I will be assessing the accents as'well as the jerseys when I'm picking where to sit on Saturday..

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 04/07/2017 12:52:39    2010356

Replying To Jinxie:  "Yeah they wear it in the League. Wore white v us in the last 3 league meeting since 2010 anyway, but there used to be a rule that with a colour clash for Championship games that counties must revert to the provincial colours, hence the all green in 2002 & Donegal in Amber & Black.
However, in 03, 04 & 07 we played Fermanagh and they just switched to away kits."
Was thinking that but looked online and its been sold as their old 2016 one, good to know. Best to switch to away kits i think for saturday.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 04/07/2017 12:59:08    2010363

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Is there anywhere to watch this match? RTE are showing Clare vs Mayo, SKY Kilkenny vs Waterford and GAAGo is showing both those matches but not ours!"
No dont think so ! Can't understand why there showing Mayo game rather that our match ! Mayo are going to win for sure .

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 04/07/2017 13:23:44    2010381