Meath v Sligo

Replying To bert09:  "I think this is one of the main issues. Our half forward line looks great on paper. In reality they let Kildare have plenty of space to pick good passes to their inside forwards.

This is why I think someone like Harnan would be better on the half forward line where he is able to defend and break up opposition attacks.

Everyone talks about our weak defence. Paradoxically our weakness in defence is our forwards who don't track back enough or apply pressure when teams are on the counter."
If you take harnan out who would be your 6 backs ??

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 19/06/2017 21:36:20    2002153

Replying To bert09:  "I think this is one of the main issues. Our half forward line looks great on paper. In reality they let Kildare have plenty of space to pick good passes to their inside forwards.

This is why I think someone like Harnan would be better on the half forward line where he is able to defend and break up opposition attacks.

Everyone talks about our weak defence. Paradoxically our weakness in defence is our forwards who don't track back enough or apply pressure when teams are on the counter."
but the workrate of the forwards off the ball was great in the last number of games. it went back to last year on saturday.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/06/2017 21:44:04    2002164

Replying To grahamc9897:  "If you take harnan out who would be your 6 backs ??"
I'd give conlon a shot at it with one eye on next years half back line consisting of-

Ford - Conlon - Tobin

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 19/06/2017 21:52:22    2002174

Harnan was playing at #11 a while back wasn't he.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/06/2017 21:54:51    2002177

Replying To ziggy32001:  "but the workrate of the forwards off the ball was great in the last number of games. it went back to last year on saturday."
They met a team who works harder them, a team that was bigger and fitter who also had a game plan. The Kildare players had the mindset and the will to work harder. Plus in the Clare, Cork, Galway and Louth games their backs didn't attack as much so the forwards work rate would have looked better in those games. Imagine what Tyrone would do to us with their running game.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/06/2017 21:57:37    2002178

Replying To ziggy32001:  "but the workrate of the forwards off the ball was great in the last number of games. it went back to last year on saturday."
Workrate has improved Ziggy...

But it was the same for the entire game against Down, and half of the Galway/Cork games.

There is still something fundamentally wrong unfortunately.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 19/06/2017 22:01:49    2002180

Replying To grahamc9897:  "If you take harnan out who would be your 6 backs ??"
6 from Keogan, McGill, Burke, Tobin, Power, Conlon, S.McEntee, Douglas.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/06/2017 22:04:14    2002182

Replying To Belt:  "The striking thing for me comparing that 2014 team to the 2017 team is the loss of O'Rourke, Reilly, Meade and Tormey - 4 big, strong men who's physicality hasn't been replaced."
Very true.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 19/06/2017 22:15:16    2002193

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "6 from Keogan, McGill, Burke, Tobin, Power, Conlon, S.McEntee, Douglas."
Think them backs are asking for trouble ,

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 19/06/2017 22:20:01    2002196

We should try big joe in full forward to win u a bit of ball.I have seeing him at club games he is playing well and fitt.

condae99 (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 19/06/2017 22:25:24    2002200

Replying To meath1977:  "this crack of supporters picking teams on here is silly we have a manger for that and 4 selectors with 6 all-islands between them. they beat sligo by about ten points if your thinking sligo will beat them you either dont know much about football or you just worry too much"
Its a forum take a chill pill to many people living in the past the days went we beat teams handy or long gone and if we dont treat very team the same we will never get anywhere .its still a free country so if lads want to post teams and give there opinion well then they should

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 19/06/2017 22:47:11    2002211

Replying To Richieq:  "Out foreign working and enjoying himself, actually met his mother at the back of the stand at Parnell Park at half time v Louth and was no indication of him making an early return, hopefully we have him back next year"
Fair play to him. I strongly believe we are at a huge loss without. Hopefully we will see him back next year.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 19/06/2017 22:59:50    2002221

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Think them backs are asking for trouble ,"
We have to be realistic and work with what's available. One player isn't going to make or break the defence. Next year who knows Forde and Menton may be back in there. If they play in their best positions, are organised, work hard and try their very best, that is all we can ask for.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/06/2017 23:05:03    2002225

Replying To condae99:  "We should try big joe in full forward to win u a bit of ball.I have seeing him at club games he is playing well and fitt."
Was getting look look at joe last week and in parnell park, he has never looked as fit and trimmed down. Id say hes playing fairly well. I reckon he should get a shot at it.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 19/06/2017 23:11:15    2002233

Replying To Barney123:  "Had you it recorded? I would love to watch it again but didn't have it recorded.

You make an excellent point about patience when kicking it into the forwards, look at any of the top teams(a lot of average ones too) they have no problem recycling the ball and holding it around the middle until an opportunity arises but Meath seemed to be mad to kick the ball in thinking it would work like it did against Louth. Surely the management and the players realised a change was going to have to be made to the game plan but that seemed to take longer than it should have.

It's a pity we didn't get Derry away, that would have been a real test for this team but the next round should be(if we do get through! you never know with this team)

Andy should be given at least 3 years, this is only his first year doing proper strength and conditioning with the team and he will learn. Look at Cian O'Neill, in his first year he had that desperate loss to Westmeath where he was thinking about the Dubs before facing them. This year they gained promotion to Division 1 and still look like they will improve in the coming years. I know he has had the fortune of lads coming back from other sports and good underage teams but although we were poor it was obvious he had his homework done on us."
keep an eye out for a rerun of game, sky did this before, usually late at night. It was on sky 5. Not easy viewing

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 19/06/2017 23:22:08    2002242

Replying To condae99:  "We should try big joe in full forward to win u a bit of ball.I have seeing him at club games he is playing well and fitt."
Is this a Joke?

Sure while we're at it why don't we bring back Donal Curtis and Ollie Murphy sure they're still doing it for their clubs

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 20/06/2017 08:32:05    2002297

Why do some posters constantly revert to calling for Joe at full forward? Lads, it's been tried before. It does not work any more. Sticking a big man at full forward is bread and butter for any half decent intercounty defence nowadays. Look at Brian Sheridan against Kildare in the league.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 20/06/2017 10:17:57    2002355

The sooner mickey newman gets back in the team the better, with him back I'd go

10. Ruairi ocaoilean
11. Lenihan
12. Cillian O'Sullivan
13 biggy (play as another half forward)
14.McMahon
15.Newman

I seen lenihan play a few games at 11 for dunboyne, the more he gets on the ball the more good things happen, O'Sullivan is more of a wing forward anyway, this all doesn't work without Newman so I'm hoping he'll be available v Sligo

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 20/06/2017 11:40:57    2002407

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Why do some posters constantly revert to calling for Joe at full forward? Lads, it's been tried before. It does not work any more. Sticking a big man at full forward is bread and butter for any half decent intercounty defence nowadays. Look at Brian Sheridan against Kildare in the league."
You are correct in what your saying ! But the inside forwards were very poor ! Not sure what the best way forward is !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 20/06/2017 12:13:44    2002441

Replying To meath1977- I agree with you there about naming teams but there is where it ends! Why do we have the same guys posting teams and playing draughts with lineouts. Some other players on the panel require a chance. It was interesting that the best player on the field in the second half was a player who was not 'supposed' to be good enough to start. Some guys talking about strength in defence required -a bit of pace and a bit of football brain would do no harm. You need all forwards with a high work rate of tracking back. I would play the CF who does have a good work rate in the full forward line where I think he could cause lots of problems to any defence . The best player in defence for Kildare was a quite small player with great football ability and good pace and the full back was no slough either with pace. Unfortunately there are now some very poor traits coming into our games where so called supporters shout abuse at players and management - these guys should be singled out and banned from all counties. Players and management give of their considerable time to play and manage and should not be the subject of abuse at any game- I guess the guys I am referring to never played or if they did were either total fools or cowards. Is there anyone posting who has the ability to manage or play at county level (now my point about abuse is not related to posts/treads although folk should be aware that negative comments about named players is not good under any circumstances). The best of luck to all involved next day out
PS: Will someone check RD's snack box next day out as warm weather brings its own difficulty especially with the chicken wings!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/06/2017 12:29:03    2002453