Meath v Sligo

Everything that could of went wrong against Kildare did. If they learn from their mistakes we can beat sligo and maybe even go on a run.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/06/2017 18:04:45    2002019

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Maybe against Sligo yes... because they usually play with every man,women and child behind the ball."
If the Sligo lads saw our game vs Kildare they are probably saying the same thing.

We should win this one but who Knows ? this team is so unpredictable. I Do think if we lose to Sligo some of the players will start to leave the panel as what's the point training so hard all year for Performances like Saturday Evening.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 19/06/2017 18:05:37    2002020

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Andrew Tormey has joined the Gardai, he doesnt seem to have the time to play...by God we could do with him."
If that's the case I would have thought he would have plenty of free time!

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 19/06/2017 18:12:34    2002024

Replying To Richieq:  "Welcome sir, not a bad team indeed, I would have considered horsing Reilly in full forward last Saturday and moving McMahon out as he was clearly being overpowered by his man and Reilly was struggling outfield, it may have reaped some dividends at least. O'Coillean starting is a cert and we do need more bulk as was ruthlessly shown last Sunday so Newman, Sean Tobin and Flanagan are men that should have been introduced last Saturday and introduced at half time if we were to have any hope."
Thank you Richieq.
Reilly was man marked out of it the last day by Hyland, he didn't like being man marked and if he was closer to goals then he would be man marked the whole time. I think Reilly is better at winning the ball in space, carrying it or taking it off the shoulder for a score. Himself and O Sullivan would cause teams a lot of trouble if they were able to run with the ball from further out the field and we also have the option to kick it long to the full forward line (McMahon needs a good winter in the gym and on the stout).
Flanagan won't be used till the Meath Juniors are knocked out. I would liked to have seen Newman brought on the last day, himself and Tobin at the edge of the Kildare square and Lenihan playing off them could have caused a bit of trouble.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/06/2017 18:16:24    2002027

Looked at game again kickouts wer poor but as has been the case for many years no one winning dirty breaking ball or reading break .o sullivan had lots of ball but used it poorly mcmahon didnt figure but any ball to him was terrible and their was this panic to get the ball up the field no matter what never tried to recycle the ball and go again .every attack was straight down the middle and biggy had a couple of chances to kick for a score but kept passing it and badly at that any good team has patience holds the ball waits for a chance and trieds to get the right men to go for scores so its a massive calm down needed no kicking aim less ball to small forwards who are double marked if we dont start doing the simple things right we may get used to hammerings because there will be alot more.changes are needed if your a sub and watching that you would be very disappointed not to be getting a run vs sligo team por keoghan mcgill mcntee tobin harnan mcntee burke menton flanagan r o c newman o sullivan lenihan biggy sean tobin lads on here thinking this is a handy one should get a grip saturday was not a blip its was a reality check

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 19/06/2017 18:29:44    2002037

Looked at game again kickouts wer poor but as has been the case for many years no one winning dirty breaking ball or reading break .o sullivan had lots of ball but used it poorly mcmahon didnt figure but any ball to him was terrible and their was this panic to get the ball up the field no matter what never tried to recycle the ball and go again .every attack was straight down the middle and biggy had a couple of chances to kick for a score but kept passing it and badly at that any good team has patience holds the ball waits for a chance and trieds to get the right men to go for scores so its a massive calm down needed no kicking aim less ball to small forwards who are double marked if we dont start doing the simple things right we may get used to hammerings because there will be alot more.changes are needed if your a sub and watching that you would be very disappointed not to be getting a run vs sligo team por keoghan mcgill mcntee tobin harnan mcntee burke menton flanagan r o c newman o sullivan lenihan biggy sean tobin lads on here thinking this is a handy one should get a grip saturday was not a blip its was a reality check

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 19/06/2017 18:31:39    2002040

Sorry ment mcntee or burke its sligo who play with 16 but we could do with joinning them

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 19/06/2017 18:33:15    2002042

Replying To matthematx:  "Looked at game again kickouts wer poor but as has been the case for many years no one winning dirty breaking ball or reading break .o sullivan had lots of ball but used it poorly mcmahon didnt figure but any ball to him was terrible and their was this panic to get the ball up the field no matter what never tried to recycle the ball and go again .every attack was straight down the middle and biggy had a couple of chances to kick for a score but kept passing it and badly at that any good team has patience holds the ball waits for a chance and trieds to get the right men to go for scores so its a massive calm down needed no kicking aim less ball to small forwards who are double marked if we dont start doing the simple things right we may get used to hammerings because there will be alot more.changes are needed if your a sub and watching that you would be very disappointed not to be getting a run vs sligo team por keoghan mcgill mcntee tobin harnan mcntee burke menton flanagan r o c newman o sullivan lenihan biggy sean tobin lads on here thinking this is a handy one should get a grip saturday was not a blip its was a reality check"
thing is we were doing this sort of stuff well in the league..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/06/2017 18:42:05    2002050

Replying To bert09:  "If that's the case I would have thought he would have plenty of free time!"
he is out for a year with knee

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 19/06/2017 18:45:40    2002053

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Andrew Tormey has joined the Gardai, he doesnt seem to have the time to play...by God we could do with him."
he did his cruciate earlier in the year..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/06/2017 18:46:08    2002054

Replying To meath1977:  "look we will win next game handy it's about trying to put things right but the test won't come till game after next"
Totally agree, get things in motion this game for the next day.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2017 18:50:12    2002060

That's a good enough team but you need a half-forward line that are willing and able to defend as much as attack. When I saw the highlights on TSG you could see how some of Kildare's backs were bombing forward with only a token effort made by forwards to tackle or track them properly. Pick a full forward line based on scoring ability, workrate and ability to defend/track runners when necessary.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/06/2017 18:57:22    2002063

Replying To matthematx:  "Looked at game again kickouts wer poor but as has been the case for many years no one winning dirty breaking ball or reading break .o sullivan had lots of ball but used it poorly mcmahon didnt figure but any ball to him was terrible and their was this panic to get the ball up the field no matter what never tried to recycle the ball and go again .every attack was straight down the middle and biggy had a couple of chances to kick for a score but kept passing it and badly at that any good team has patience holds the ball waits for a chance and trieds to get the right men to go for scores so its a massive calm down needed no kicking aim less ball to small forwards who are double marked if we dont start doing the simple things right we may get used to hammerings because there will be alot more.changes are needed if your a sub and watching that you would be very disappointed not to be getting a run vs sligo team por keoghan mcgill mcntee tobin harnan mcntee burke menton flanagan r o c newman o sullivan lenihan biggy sean tobin lads on here thinking this is a handy one should get a grip saturday was not a blip its was a reality check"
this crack of supporters picking teams on here is silly we have a manger for that and 4 selectors with 6 all-islands between them. they beat sligo by about ten points if your thinking sligo will beat them you either dont know much about football or you just worry too much

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 19/06/2017 18:58:55    2002065

MM, 16 on our team would give us an edge :)

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/06/2017 19:00:54    2002068

Had you it recorded? I would love to watch it again but didn't have it recorded.

You make an excellent point about patience when kicking it into the forwards, look at any of the top teams(a lot of average ones too) they have no problem recycling the ball and holding it around the middle until an opportunity arises but Meath seemed to be mad to kick the ball in thinking it would work like it did against Louth. Surely the management and the players realised a change was going to have to be made to the game plan but that seemed to take longer than it should have.

It's a pity we didn't get Derry away, that would have been a real test for this team but the next round should be(if we do get through! you never know with this team)

Andy should be given at least 3 years, this is only his first year doing proper strength and conditioning with the team and he will learn. Look at Cian O'Neill, in his first year he had that desperate loss to Westmeath where he was thinking about the Dubs before facing them. This year they gained promotion to Division 1 and still look like they will improve in the coming years. I know he has had the fortune of lads coming back from other sports and good underage teams but although we were poor it was obvious he had his homework done on us.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 19/06/2017 19:29:05    2002076

Replying To Richieq:  "I'd didn't even take 3 years, Kildare were muck in 2015 and 2016 in particular but their transformation in less than 12 months has been remarkable, now what that is exactly down too I don't know but I haven't seen such a transformation in a team so quickly since Donegal in 2010-2011 and I am more than interested to see how they perform against the Dubs, presuming they don't fall at the feet of Westmeath. This Kildare turnaround is quite amazing if you compare performances to last year."
Listening to O Neil, he said they were missing quite a few last year and some were not fully fit, plus some new blood from underage.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 19/06/2017 19:30:08    2002077

Just for a bit of fun don't slaughter me

1.O'Rourke
2.Conlan
3.McGill
4.Power
5.James McEntee
6.Harnan
7.Tobin
8.Keoghan
9.Menton
10.ROC
11.Sean Tobin
12.O'Sullivan
13.Graham Reilly
14.Newman
15.Lenihan

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 19/06/2017 19:44:45    2002085

Replying To SheridansTry:  "If the Sligo lads saw our game vs Kildare they are probably saying the same thing.

We should win this one but who Knows ? this team is so unpredictable. I Do think if we lose to Sligo some of the players will start to leave the panel as what's the point training so hard all year for Performances like Saturday Evening."
Look all teams train hard all year and only one team can win the all Ireland !

If it's case of "what's the point training so hard all year for a poor Performance" well then we probably have nobody playing in the country next year ,at the same time i know were your coming from with you're point of view !

This time last week all the experts got the Meath v Kildare game hard to call..most went for a one or two point wins for either teams and a lot went for a draw ! They weren't wrong in their judgement at the time ! Kildare kept their side of the bargain and performed like how everybody expected them to perform..Meath decided to perform like they did in the Down match during the league ! So what you get is a team that looks like there all Ireland contenders and another team that looks like they just might have enough to survive regulations from division 6 next year !

Modern day football there is no room for errors or flat performances​...if you have a player not performing to how he should well he is worth 2 points on the score board to the opposition ! Even if you are not performing well on the day you still have to keep yourself in the game.. covering space .. getting bodies back in the right position were the opposition can hurt you ..and we didn't !

I think Kildare fans probably now feel after the hang over of the weekend that Meath made them look even better than they actually are...Who knows Kildare might not win another game for another year !

We just didn't perform last Saturday.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 19/06/2017 20:13:06    2002087

The inability to compete at midfield leaves us no hopers. You can change Tobin in but he was fairly ineffective in the league and Made no impact on Saturday. Roc played well and deserve a chance. Graham Reilly getting some serious abuse on here, you would have to wonder how these lads bother. So a big reality check for us All, a few years will tell what Andy Mc can achieve.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 19/06/2017 20:54:18    2002120

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "That's a good enough team but you need a half-forward line that are willing and able to defend as much as attack. When I saw the highlights on TSG you could see how some of Kildare's backs were bombing forward with only a token effort made by forwards to tackle or track them properly. Pick a full forward line based on scoring ability, workrate and ability to defend/track runners when necessary."
I think this is one of the main issues. Our half forward line looks great on paper. In reality they let Kildare have plenty of space to pick good passes to their inside forwards.

This is why I think someone like Harnan would be better on the half forward line where he is able to defend and break up opposition attacks.

Everyone talks about our weak defence. Paradoxically our weakness in defence is our forwards who don't track back enough or apply pressure when teams are on the counter.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 19/06/2017 21:12:27    2002129