Meath under 21s

Replying To ziggy32001:  "yeah pretty poor coverage it has to be said. What games have they coming up?"
After the Chronicle did some "exhaustive research" we are playing Leitrim in Dunganny at 2 p.m. on Saturday.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 04/01/2017 19:37:37    1943110

Replying To Barney123:  "After the Chronicle did some "exhaustive research" we are playing Leitrim in Dunganny at 2 p.m. on Saturday."
tempted to go to that one

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/01/2017 19:57:26    1943114

Meath 3-15
Leitrim 0-14

quite a few of last years minors played in this one..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/01/2017 15:23:14    1943743

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Meath 3-15
Leitrim 0-14

quite a few of last years minors played in this one.."
Seen the team sheet and couldn't believe how many played. Where are the minors of 2014 and 2015 gone ?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 07/01/2017 15:32:38    1943748

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Seen the team sheet and couldn't believe how many played. Where are the minors of 2014 and 2015 gone ?"
Fair point...

I think someone said we looked like a minor side v Offaly,perhaps a similar number from last years minors played.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/01/2017 17:55:49    1943791

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Seen the team sheet and couldn't believe how many played. Where are the minors of 2014 and 2015 gone ?"
Although some of them about,Jones is injured,Thomas O'Reilly,Podge McGowan,Daniel O'Neill,Brian Harnan are still there.Perhaps Barry wants to see which players from last years minor crop can make the jump.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/01/2017 18:04:50    1943797

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Although some of them about,Jones is injured,Thomas O'Reilly,Podge McGowan,Daniel O'Neill,Brian Harnan are still there.Perhaps Barry wants to see which players from last years minor crop can make the jump."
8 points from O'Reilly. I'd same himself, Brian Conlon and Dan O'Neill will be 3 lads getting the call up

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 07/01/2017 19:08:22    1943813

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "8 points from O'Reilly. I'd same himself, Brian Conlon and Dan O'Neill will be 3 lads getting the call up"
Conlon did play.Hopefully Jones will be back soon and O'Neill is around.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/01/2017 22:40:48    1943882

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "8 points from O'Reilly. I'd same himself, Brian Conlon and Dan O'Neill will be 3 lads getting the call up"
No can't see them tones lads moving up yet although we need a full back. Conlon from simonstown will step up

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 08/01/2017 08:12:31    1943898

Would you not consider Daire Rowe to be in the reckoning?

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 08/01/2017 10:45:26    1943906

Would you not consider Daire Rowe to be in the reckoning?

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 08/01/2017 10:45:45    1943907

Replying To cilles man:  "Would you not consider Daire Rowe to be in the reckoning?"
Rowe has huge improvements to make imo.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/01/2017 11:41:48    1943915

But in my view def worth having a look at , surprised he wasnt included in Callaghans 21 s squad...

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 08/01/2017 12:24:33    1943919

Replying To cilles man:  "But in my view def worth having a look at , surprised he wasnt included in Callaghans 21 s squad..."
Oh of course!

He is in the squad I believe,but just didn't feature at the weekend.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/01/2017 12:43:04    1943921

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Oh of course!

He is in the squad I believe,but just didn't feature at the weekend."
Is it possible he is playing college's in the O'Byrne cup

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 08/01/2017 13:00:31    1943926

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Is it possible he is playing college's in the O'Byrne cup"
No he is in the U21 squad as far as I know he isn't with a college team.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/01/2017 21:45:40    1944719

Ziggy ,

I don't know where your coming from with the Rowe statement, He's a Natural footballer , a enigmatic talent . I hear people talk about James Conlon this year as if he is the New Messiah , from what I seen of the Syddan / St Colmcille games this year , young Rowe is by far the deadlier of the two sharpshooters , and has pace that far exceeds James Conlon ( James is also an exceptional talent , so don't start saying I knocking James ). I don't know what you mean he has a lot of improvement to do . Eamon Wallace , arrived on the Meath Senior Squad , after been overlooked by Andy Mc at minor level ( During their All Ireland adventure) . He was a bench warmer , yet everyone around asked the questions why " and he was recognised by all in the know at that point to be an exceptional talent " and why Eamons participation that year was only as a panellist . Within 12 months the Meath followers were praising him as the best thing since sliced bread . I think a bit of cop on is required here . Rowe has been outstanding for Club and County this year . he's still a young lad as is James Conlon . Does he even need to be included in the Senior set up yet .
Look what happened to E. Wallace when he was dropped in , cruciate injuries etc.

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 12/01/2017 16:04:47    1945213

Replying To Meath_True:  "Ziggy ,

I don't know where your coming from with the Rowe statement, He's a Natural footballer , a enigmatic talent . I hear people talk about James Conlon this year as if he is the New Messiah , from what I seen of the Syddan / St Colmcille games this year , young Rowe is by far the deadlier of the two sharpshooters , and has pace that far exceeds James Conlon ( James is also an exceptional talent , so don't start saying I knocking James ). I don't know what you mean he has a lot of improvement to do . Eamon Wallace , arrived on the Meath Senior Squad , after been overlooked by Andy Mc at minor level ( During their All Ireland adventure) . He was a bench warmer , yet everyone around asked the questions why " and he was recognised by all in the know at that point to be an exceptional talent " and why Eamons participation that year was only as a panellist . Within 12 months the Meath followers were praising him as the best thing since sliced bread . I think a bit of cop on is required here . Rowe has been outstanding for Club and County this year . he's still a young lad as is James Conlon . Does he even need to be included in the Senior set up yet .
Look what happened to E. Wallace when he was dropped in , cruciate injuries etc."
Eamonn Wallace was starting on Andy Mcs minor team all through the league until he left the panel pre championship over a disagreement with regard to his athletics

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 12/01/2017 17:55:15    1945256

Replying To Meath_True:  "Ziggy ,

Look what happened to E. Wallace when he was dropped in , cruciate injuries etc."
Talking to a few guys in Syddan they feel that Rowe has stalled a little bit.But as you say he is still very young.The Meath U21 team have some good young forwards.You named Conlon,but they also have Moriarty,McLoughlin and Thomas O'Reilly.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/01/2017 18:08:13    1945262

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Talking to a few guys in Syddan they feel that Rowe has stalled a little bit.But as you say he is still very young.The Meath U21 team have some good young forwards.You named Conlon,but they also have Moriarty,McLoughlin and Thomas O'Reilly."
At the end of day here lads , Rowe , if he has stalled in his progress , well then maybe joining Andys 50 man squad would have been of great help to him for motivation, , strength & conditioning, etc . But as well all know from outset a agreement was in place that the 21s would'nt join the senior set up untill they 're fall in the championship.Hopefully for this young man , if tired gets his break also that he regains his appetite and has a good 2017, gives Andy a headache going forward. Let's not be knocking our young talents & being critical of them , but encourage them to continue play our game.

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 12/01/2017 18:47:37    1945270