Meath v Sligo

Replying To Richieq:  "I'd didn't even take 3 years, Kildare were muck in 2015 and 2016 in particular but their transformation in less than 12 months has been remarkable, now what that is exactly down too I don't know but I haven't seen such a transformation in a team so quickly since Donegal in 2010-2011 and I am more than interested to see how they perform against the Dubs, presuming they don't fall at the feet of Westmeath. This Kildare turnaround is quite amazing if you compare performances to last year."
It's a much changed Kildare team from last year's Leinster semi final. Kevin Feely, Daniel Flynn and Keith Cribbin were injured. Eoin Doyle, probably the team's most important player, was only just back from a serious injury and was nowhere near full fitness. Mick O'Grady was taking a year out and Paddy Brophy was unavailable. David Slattery wasn't on the panel this time last year. That's one third of the team that's changed. Take those lads out on Saturday and you've a very different team.

Meath have the nucleus of a good team there but it's clear that they need a much stronger spine. Harry Rooney would add physical presence in the middle of the field and allow them to deploy Menton in the backs. Keoghan is one of the best man markers around and needs to be played in the corner. Donal Lenihan has seriously impressed me in the two Meath/Kildare games this year and Cillian O'Sullivan has potential but needs to add more of an end product to his game. O Coileain looked a good prospect when he came on. The forward line lacked ball winners on Saturday night; where has Andrew Tormey gone?

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 19/06/2017 15:12:55    2001903

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I updated my team to include Harnon instead of Shane McEntee. Only Difference in out 15 is Douglas for McMahon.."
Thanks, hopefully going in the right direction.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 19/06/2017 15:22:18    2001906

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I updated my team to include Harnon instead of Shane McEntee. Only Difference in out 15 is Douglas for McMahon.."
I think I have Conlon for Tobin also.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 19/06/2017 15:24:32    2001909

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "I think I have Conlon for Tobin also."
Oh yeah I see that...I wouldn't have a major problem with conlan playing! Granted I haven't seen him at all and wouldn't know a whole lot about him ! But have heard good things ! Tobin did struggle against Kildare but I would still pick him ! Maybe move him further out the feild ! Just a suggestion

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 19/06/2017 15:49:23    2001927

Today has been quite a boring day in the office so I decided to join after a number of years watching from the sidelines.

I think we are good enough to account for Sligo, They will probably play defensively and try to hit us on the counter so we will have to be patient with our build up play and now run down blind ally's or give the ball away stupidly. However McEntee has had this team since November and last Saturday there was no sort of game plan to be seen, this needs to be fixed by next year.
If Sligo are to play defensively the next day then I would recommend our 6 backs to hold their shape and not commit forward at every opportunity because that will leave holes in our defence on the counter when we do lose the ball. To break down a packed defence we either need to kick scores from distance (Which we don't appear to be able to do) or have runners coming off the shoulder when a guy breaks a tackle.
For the next day we need work rate, that comes from 1-15, there can be no passengers if a lad doesn't pull his weight after the first 5 minutes then take him off and replace him with someone that will!

1.) P. O'Rourke
2.) D. Keoghan
3.) C. McGill
4.) M. Burke
5.) B. Conlon
6.) P. Harnan
7.) D. Tobin
8.) B. Menton
9.) R. Jones
10.) G. Reilly
11.) C. O Sullivan
12.) R. O.Coileann
13.) D. Lenihan
14.) B. McMahon
15.) T. O Reilly

I've added in Conlon and O Reilly for a bit of youth, both lads are big and strong but they will be eager to impress so they will work their socks off. Burke retains his place from the last day as he was probably the best of the backs. Harnan, Keoghan, Tobin and McGill tried hard but were not at the races and a bit of a re-shape to the backs is needed. I feel Harnan is better suited to center back at the minute as we need someone there who is big, strong and can read the game he just needs to be told not to stray too far forward. Tobin is not a corner back, he can not man mark, he was about 5 yards off his man every time the last day. Keoghan and McGill are probably the two best in the set up so I would leave them in the fullback line, if Sligo drop a man out then let Burke follow if not management can deal with that.
Jones is learning and deserves a good few chances, I still think he is a great prospect. Menton is a no-brainer at the minute. McMahon and Reilly can count themselves very lucky because I considered J.McEntee and S. Tobin to start a head of them in the forwards but sadly dropping 4 of the 6 forwards would just unsettle the sinking ship even further also McMahon has still a bit of youth on his side. O Sullivan worked his socks off the last day but his final product needs a bit of work the same with Lenihan.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/06/2017 16:18:33    2001939

Stop Marron and Harrison and you pretty much nullify Sligo threat. Punching above their weight in Connaught they have had to rely on blanket defence. We need to box clever and forget about taking the ball into the tackle. Wallace needs to step aside graciously for this one at least. If Andy Mc persists with long ball inside the 21 then Newman has got to start. He may not be the bulkiest forward but he does have height, strength and agility and most importantly an eye for goal.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 19/06/2017 16:33:03    2001951

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Today has been quite a boring day in the office so I decided to join after a number of years watching from the sidelines.

I think we are good enough to account for Sligo, They will probably play defensively and try to hit us on the counter so we will have to be patient with our build up play and now run down blind ally's or give the ball away stupidly. However McEntee has had this team since November and last Saturday there was no sort of game plan to be seen, this needs to be fixed by next year.
If Sligo are to play defensively the next day then I would recommend our 6 backs to hold their shape and not commit forward at every opportunity because that will leave holes in our defence on the counter when we do lose the ball. To break down a packed defence we either need to kick scores from distance (Which we don't appear to be able to do) or have runners coming off the shoulder when a guy breaks a tackle.
For the next day we need work rate, that comes from 1-15, there can be no passengers if a lad doesn't pull his weight after the first 5 minutes then take him off and replace him with someone that will!

1.) P. O'Rourke
2.) D. Keoghan
3.) C. McGill
4.) M. Burke
5.) B. Conlon
6.) P. Harnan
7.) D. Tobin
8.) B. Menton
9.) R. Jones
10.) G. Reilly
11.) C. O Sullivan
12.) R. O.Coileann
13.) D. Lenihan
14.) B. McMahon
15.) T. O Reilly

I've added in Conlon and O Reilly for a bit of youth, both lads are big and strong but they will be eager to impress so they will work their socks off. Burke retains his place from the last day as he was probably the best of the backs. Harnan, Keoghan, Tobin and McGill tried hard but were not at the races and a bit of a re-shape to the backs is needed. I feel Harnan is better suited to center back at the minute as we need someone there who is big, strong and can read the game he just needs to be told not to stray too far forward. Tobin is not a corner back, he can not man mark, he was about 5 yards off his man every time the last day. Keoghan and McGill are probably the two best in the set up so I would leave them in the fullback line, if Sligo drop a man out then let Burke follow if not management can deal with that.
Jones is learning and deserves a good few chances, I still think he is a great prospect. Menton is a no-brainer at the minute. McMahon and Reilly can count themselves very lucky because I considered J.McEntee and S. Tobin to start a head of them in the forwards but sadly dropping 4 of the 6 forwards would just unsettle the sinking ship even further also McMahon has still a bit of youth on his side. O Sullivan worked his socks off the last day but his final product needs a bit of work the same with Lenihan."
Not a bad team ....it has a good bit of balance to it

it's a shame Eamon Wallace seems to be suffering from a lack of form of late ..he didn't really have any conviction or purposes in his attempts at point kicking ..hope he finds a bit of good form

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 19/06/2017 16:41:07    2001957

Anyone know what the story is with Harry Rooney?? We could really do with him

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 19/06/2017 16:46:06    2001961

Replying To beir_bua:  "It's a much changed Kildare team from last year's Leinster semi final. Kevin Feely, Daniel Flynn and Keith Cribbin were injured. Eoin Doyle, probably the team's most important player, was only just back from a serious injury and was nowhere near full fitness. Mick O'Grady was taking a year out and Paddy Brophy was unavailable. David Slattery wasn't on the panel this time last year. That's one third of the team that's changed. Take those lads out on Saturday and you've a very different team.

Meath have the nucleus of a good team there but it's clear that they need a much stronger spine. Harry Rooney would add physical presence in the middle of the field and allow them to deploy Menton in the backs. Keoghan is one of the best man markers around and needs to be played in the corner. Donal Lenihan has seriously impressed me in the two Meath/Kildare games this year and Cillian O'Sullivan has potential but needs to add more of an end product to his game. O Coileain looked a good prospect when he came on. The forward line lacked ball winners on Saturday night; where has Andrew Tormey gone?"
Andrew Tormey has joined the Gardai, he doesnt seem to have the time to play...by God we could do with him.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 19/06/2017 16:48:45    2001963

Would Donal Keoghan be an option for midfeild ??

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 19/06/2017 17:03:54    2001974

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Burke has to play, he has been one of the better players in 2 games so far and the effort he puts in sets a good example. Would be amazed if Tobin was kept in team and Burke dropped after what happened Saturday. I agree we need a big man up front, Tobin or maybe Brian Sheridan (is he still on panel ?), good to hear Newman is on panel, I thought he was gone. I agree also with ROC, he came out of Saturday with credit which says something."
Donnacha is a midfielder/ wing back being played corner back........he did get destroyed but hes being asked to do something he's prob not comfortable with. He's a very good wing back

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 19/06/2017 17:09:22    2001981

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Andrew Tormey has joined the Gardai, he doesnt seem to have the time to play...by God we could do with him."
Really? I don't agree that he is a loss at all.

For those listing teams, it doesn't matter lads who is centre back or who is wing back, Gaelic football isn't played like that anymore. Its about 1 goalkeeper, 2 man markers, 1/2 sweepers, 1/2 fielders, 2 inside forwards,1 free taker and then the rest are athletic hybrid defenders/attackers. Its a waste of time naming wing backs and corner backs etc. Its not 15 v 15 anymore and this mentality needs to change in the county.

We don't have a clear defensive strategy in place which is very disappointing and I expected more from the McEntees. We also don't have a clear attack strategy for defensive teams like Kildare (Tyrone and Derry in previous years). This is basic stuff, the likes of which MOD was criticised for. What are we doing in training? I guess such strategies take time so I'll give management a chance.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 19/06/2017 17:11:26    2001982

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Anyone know what the story is with Harry Rooney?? We could really do with him"
Out foreign working and enjoying himself, actually met his mother at the back of the stand at Parnell Park at half time v Louth and was no indication of him making an early return, hopefully we have him back next year

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/06/2017 17:13:13    2001983

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Today has been quite a boring day in the office so I decided to join after a number of years watching from the sidelines.

1.) P. O'Rourke
2.) D. Keoghan
3.) C. McGill
4.) M. Burke
5.) B. Conlon
6.) P. Harnan
7.) D. Tobin
8.) B. Menton
9.) R. Jones
10.) G. Reilly
11.) C. O Sullivan
12.) R. O.Coileann
13.) D. Lenihan
14.) B. McMahon
15.) T. O Reilly

Jones is learning and deserves a good few chances, I still think he is a great prospect. Menton is a no-brainer at the minute. McMahon and Reilly can count themselves very lucky because I considered J.McEntee and S. Tobin to start a head of them in the forwards but sadly dropping 4 of the 6 forwards would just unsettle the sinking ship even further also McMahon has still a bit of youth on his side. O Sullivan worked his socks off the last day but his final product needs a bit of work the same with Lenihan."
Welcome on board, like the look of the team you picked is would appear to have a good balance to it. Maybe Reilly to ff line and bring in J McEntee for McMahon

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 19/06/2017 17:14:24    2001984

1.) P. O'Rourke
2.) D. Keoghan
3.) C. McGill
4.) M. Burke
5.) B. Conlon
6.) P. Harnan
7.) D. Tobin
8.) B. Menton
9.) R. Jones
10.) G. Reilly
11.) C. O Sullivan
12.) R. O.Coileann
13.) D. Lenihan
14.) B. McMahon
15.) T. O Reilly

Welcome sir, not a bad team indeed, I would have considered horsing Reilly in full forward last Saturday and moving McMahon out as he was clearly being overpowered by his man and Reilly was struggling outfield, it may have reaped some dividends at least. O'Coillean starting is a cert and we do need more bulk as was ruthlessly shown last Sunday so Newman, Sean Tobin and Flanagan are men that should have been introduced last Saturday and introduced at half time if we were to have any hope.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/06/2017 17:19:50    2001986

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Would Donal Keoghan be an option for midfeild ??"
Maybe against Sligo yes... because they usually play with every man,women and child behind the ball.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 19/06/2017 17:21:22    2001987

All season we just haven't played as an organised team, lot of good footballing individuals running around the pitch like headless chickens. Andy has some hard decisions to make but more than anything he needs to come up with a way of playing that is based on team work rather than individual performance.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 19/06/2017 17:48:10    2002003

1.) P. O'Rourke
2.) D. Keoghan
3.) C. McGill
4.) M. Burke
5.) B. Conlon
6.) P. Harnan
7.) D. Tobin
8.) B. Menton
9.) R. Jones
10.) G. Reilly
11.) C. O Sullivan
12.) R. O.Coileann
13.) D. Lenihan
14.) B. McMahon
15.) T. O Reilly

Really well thought out team, nice youth to it but I don't understand how you can write a 1000 word essay and not have the words mickey Newman mentioned at least once, he's back on the panel, he played a Meath challenge roughly a month ago and scored 1-4, I think including him is a no brainer

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 19/06/2017 17:49:07    2002004

Replying To Crinigan:  "Really? I don't agree that he is a loss at all.

For those listing teams, it doesn't matter lads who is centre back or who is wing back, Gaelic football isn't played like that anymore. Its about 1 goalkeeper, 2 man markers, 1/2 sweepers, 1/2 fielders, 2 inside forwards,1 free taker and then the rest are athletic hybrid defenders/attackers. Its a waste of time naming wing backs and corner backs etc. Its not 15 v 15 anymore and this mentality needs to change in the county.

We don't have a clear defensive strategy in place which is very disappointing and I expected more from the McEntees. We also don't have a clear attack strategy for defensive teams like Kildare (Tyrone and Derry in previous years). This is basic stuff, the likes of which MOD was criticised for. What are we doing in training? I guess such strategies take time so I'll give management a chance."
Crinigan, I do understand it's not 15 v 15 anymore but Kildare the last day played with 4 forwards majority of the time, 2 inside and 2 in the half forward line and most of the top teams such as Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Monaghan and Galway all play with a similar style. These teams also have defensive systems in place to handle that sort of style usually by having at least 4 defenders back.
The role of the center back and wing back has evolved, Cian O Sullivan and Eoin Doyle both hold the centre very well and are also deployed in the sweeper role to cover because there is usually no one on the forty that they have to mark. The last day Doyle was marking space because O Sullivan was going deep to get ball so he just held the centre and let someone else pick him up, Cian O Sullivan has been doing that for the last 4/5 years for Dublin. Wing backs now have the responsibility to get up and support the attack but their primary job is to defend and win their own battle with their man after that anything else is a bonus. The best teams like Dublin and Mayo will always try to have at least 4 players in the forward line and I think we should go with the same approach for an attacking plan for the rest of the year. As for the defensive strategy I'd follow Kerry's style for the final in 2014 and this years league final were the 6 backs held their shape most of the time.

I will agree with regards to McEntee and his lack of a game plan. I expected one but thinking back to games during the league there wasn't one evident, in fact I would say our league performances shadowed where we are really at.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/06/2017 17:56:41    2002011

Replying To redser123:  "Really well thought out team, nice youth to it but I don't understand how you can write a 1000 word essay and not have the words mickey Newman mentioned at least once, he's back on the panel, he played a Meath challenge roughly a month ago and scored 1-4, I think including him is a no brainer"
I would use Newman off the bench. I wouldn't start him, he played no league from what I remember and hasn't played in either of the 2 championship games yet. He's not going to be 100% match sharp for championship football. If he played a bit against Kildare then I would start him but he didn't so I don't think he would be up to the pace of a championship game. However he would be the first forward I would be bringing on against Sligo followed by Toher and E. Wallace.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/06/2017 18:03:25    2002017