Meath v Donegal

Replying To atta:  "Rome wasn't built in a day. It was great to see the fighting spirit in the team yesterday. At least we didn't go out with a whimper."
Yeah, I glad the guys fought until the end, There no way there where as bad as the played against Kildare. And it showed that we where able to adapt our style of play rather quickly to take on a top team like Donegal.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 09/07/2017 19:04:16    2013269

Replying To royaldunne:  "Don't worry you only slightly behind us in terms of been out"
You wish but we'll wait and see, you may be disappointed R.D. sometimes things don't work out the way you'd like them to. By the way I can't understand your dislike (hatred?) of Kildare. In one post you're saying that Leinster needs some county to challenge Dublin and in another you're hoping that Kildare get a hammering from Dublin, explain?

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 09/07/2017 19:29:20    2013301

Replying To bert09:  "In fairness he doesn't mention the donegal square ball which possibly evened things up a bit"
well it looked like a square ball though and menton was fouled in the leadup to that.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/07/2017 19:46:58    2013318

Replying To OntheWhiteSide:  "You wish but we'll wait and see, you may be disappointed R.D. sometimes things don't work out the way you'd like them to. By the way I can't understand your dislike (hatred?) of Kildare. In one post you're saying that Leinster needs some county to challenge Dublin and in another you're hoping that Kildare get a hammering from Dublin, explain?"
A good to see you back, you were gone for a couple of years.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/07/2017 19:48:27    2013319

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yeah, I glad the guys fought until the end, There no way there where as bad as the played against Kildare. And it showed that we where able to adapt our style of play rather quickly to take on a top team like Donegal."
Look Donegal were a genuine test, we nearly did it but those are the breaks.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/07/2017 19:49:38    2013321

I think with the benefit of hindsight, you can say that while we may not have had impact subs to get or create scores, a few defensive subs (with fresh legs) may have been able to prevent one or two Donegal scores late on. Ultimately, it was the individual mistakes by a few players that cost us the game. If we are really honest though, a win would have been as much down to Donegal having some bad wides and missing some straightforward frees/45s, and Meath taking full advantage, rather than Meath been the better team overall. The lads gave their all on the day and went out of this years championship with dignity. It is always very disappointing when you exit the championship and the IC season comes to an end after a tough 6 month training schedule. However on the day, in attacking terms most of Meath's forwards weren't that impressive in general play. We need to learn from it, see our limitations (and that of certain playing systems) and try and put things right for next season.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 09/07/2017 20:45:07    2013364

Replying To giveballaghback:  "Jaysus lads when was the Connacht final played, I was so looking forward to it, what was the final score?"
Ye had me nearly fooled lads, I nearly missed the connacht final over ye, who will Meath be playing next?

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 09/07/2017 20:46:09    2013365

Replying To ziggy32001:  "well it looked like a square ball though and menton was fouled in the leadup to that."
There is no square ball from open play was it a free there is from frees.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 09/07/2017 21:08:32    2013383

Replying To giveballaghback:  "Ye had me nearly fooled lads, I nearly missed the connacht final over ye, who will Meath be playing next?"
Roscommon in February lol

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 09/07/2017 21:09:15    2013384

Replying To Reco:  "There is no square ball from open play was it a free there is from frees."
Reco there is a square ballfrom open play .
The attacking player cannot be in the square before the final pass is made .Player can be in square before ball as
Long as he did not enter before
Final pass completed.

royalpad (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 09/07/2017 21:34:29    2013411

Replying To Reco:  "There is no square ball from open play was it a free there is from frees."
Yes there is. No player can be in the square when the ball is played. The Donegal player must have been in the square before the ball was hand passed to him. Bizarre how every Donegal fan seems adamant that it was a certain goal despite being 40-50m away from it. Referee consulted with his umpires who were right on the spot.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 09/07/2017 21:39:15    2013421

oh ffs forgot about that. :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/07/2017 22:19:48    2013469

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Well that's the year over and done with. Disappointed the with the result yesterday we could have snatched a draw although Donegal were by far the better team.
On the game itself all the players stood up yesterday but I thought the losing of the game came from management. Donegal's management had a player to shadow Reilly everywhere he went and they man marked Lenihan out of the game. We didn't have someone to do that man marking job on McBeraty (Not many counties do) nor did management assign a player to shadow Murphy or McHugh. Donegal had three main go to guys yesterday and we let all three of them have the freedom of PT."
Amen to that lets be honest no better than last year wide open against louth hammered by kildare parked the bus v sligo who could have won it in the last minute donegal have 1 outsanding forward in mac b but we left him should have been tied down no point in plucking at straws players are not good enough and donegals best days are behind them we did try to the end which is something but over all this year we wer there to make up the numbers andy should be given time to learn but cant see this group beating any of the top 4 any time soon

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 09/07/2017 23:06:31    2013521

Pretty poor coverage on Sunday game.Meath were pretty dismissive in there eyes -all about Donegal , didn't show square ball incident
So obviously it was so , reading between lines as they love controversy.

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 09/07/2017 23:27:27    2013542

Replying To matthematx:  "Amen to that lets be honest no better than last year wide open against louth hammered by kildare parked the bus v sligo who could have won it in the last minute donegal have 1 outsanding forward in mac b but we left him should have been tied down no point in plucking at straws players are not good enough and donegals best days are behind them we did try to the end which is something but over all this year we wer there to make up the numbers andy should be given time to learn but cant see this group beating any of the top 4 any time soon"
Sligo could not have won it in the last minute!!!

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 10/07/2017 08:18:04    2013633

Replying To royaldunne:  "A good to see you back, you were gone for a couple of years."
No I never left, just wasn't energised enough to get involved but thanks for the welcome anyway!!

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 10/07/2017 08:35:41    2013651

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Sligo could not have won it in the last minute!!!"
Sligo had s goal chance near the end when paddy went to sleep but my point was we wer terrible that day and we are no better than last year i feel sorry for the players because they do give up so much and put there hart and soul into it but we dont even have 1 outstanding player keoghan had a bad year over all hes a very good corner back and he should be played there but if any supporters are happy with this year god help us

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 10/07/2017 12:17:07    2013906

Replying To matthematx:  "Sligo had s goal chance near the end when paddy went to sleep but my point was we wer terrible that day and we are no better than last year i feel sorry for the players because they do give up so much and put there hart and soul into it but we dont even have 1 outstanding player keoghan had a bad year over all hes a very good corner back and he should be played there but if any supporters are happy with this year god help us"
no better than last year? god almighty... the team are fitter for a start than they have been for years.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/07/2017 13:00:54    2013957

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Yes there is. No player can be in the square when the ball is played. The Donegal player must have been in the square before the ball was hand passed to him. Bizarre how every Donegal fan seems adamant that it was a certain goal despite being 40-50m away from it. Referee consulted with his umpires who were right on the spot."
Didn't really see it but was it not passed across the goals they saying after it was thrown that's why disallowed.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 10/07/2017 13:50:53    2014038

Replying To ziggy32001:  "no better than last year? god almighty... the team are fitter for a start than they have been for years."
Yes they were much fitter against Kildare!!. Fitness has never been a problem except in the minds of posters. Seriously though I will not judge as early days and everyone including all the players put in a huge effort. Games which end with a 1 point margin could go either way. I am not a fan of a defensive plan for an entire match. Great occasion on Saturday and great to see families sitting in the sun on the safety of the grass on the hill -Just wonder who was the moron from H & S who deemed sitting on grass as dangerous. Hope that all injured players have a speedy return to football.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/07/2017 13:53:48    2014041