Meath v Donegal

Anyone read Martin McHugh's piece in the programme? In it he states that Sligo came agonisingly close to what probably been a match winning goal in the dying stages? Was the difference not 3 points at that stage? I wonder was Martin basing his piece on highlights from The Sunday Game?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 09/07/2017 11:00:47    2012850

Replying To Harnan6:  "Think we are getting a great spine to team for the years ahead. McGill at 3 conlon6 menton8 Jones 9 o caoilleann 11. All big men who can move, I think we have a team to compete in 2to 3 years. We will rise again"
Unfortunately jones is heading to American in September to study for 2 year's. Big loss to meath football

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 09/07/2017 11:26:19    2012860

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I taught Conlon was close to MOM for me won vital ball at vital times ran at Dongeal, He was blatantly taken down in first half the ref bottled a the black and gave a yellow. He was one of our leaders did you not think ? He did give ball away once or twice. but for a rookie been thrown into a midfield roll against a Donegal I was really impressed. Never seen him before."
Yes i think Conlon is a great addition. Early days, great heart ,and never stops trying.looks a natural leader even at this stage.Midfield is his position..no question. Surprising but i never saw him either till he came on against Sligo,and i was impressed immediately . Jones also looks the part even at this early stage. Another few lads like those 2 ,and we will be back in business!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 09/07/2017 12:06:04    2012882

Great second half and went down fighting against an average donegal team with 2 or 3 players that are better than any of ours....i will judge andy mc in 2019,he has a big job on his hands along with many other managers around the country.The day of GAA being a religion in counties is slowly dying away.I still believe their is a few better footballers in the county who just wont commit and can you blame them ? Croke park doing nothing for the lads with the exception of one county.As for the club players ?? they are been treated like dirt by our organisation in head quarters and by county boards.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 09/07/2017 12:34:56    2012891

look we need to keep our best prospects and keept his team together. add the likes of newman(didn't really have this year),forde and rooney to that and the panel starts to look strong. forwards like rowe and conlon may be brought in too. andy will now have a better idea of what he wants,and now he has system to work on from an early stage in 2018. as a unit we should get better at the system the more we use it too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/07/2017 12:37:20    2012892

Replying To bobjaffacake:  "Unfortunately jones is heading to American in September to study for 2 year's. Big loss to meath football"
Ah no, everytime we identify a new midfielder somethings scuppers it!! Did we do something really bad in a previous life.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 09/07/2017 12:54:44    2012903

Well that's the year over and done with. Disappointed the with the result yesterday we could have snatched a draw although Donegal were by far the better team.
On the game itself all the players stood up yesterday but I thought the losing of the game came from management. Donegal's management had a player to shadow Reilly everywhere he went and they man marked Lenihan out of the game. We didn't have someone to do that man marking job on McBeraty (Not many counties do) nor did management assign a player to shadow Murphy or McHugh. Donegal had three main go to guys yesterday and we let all three of them have the freedom of PT.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 09/07/2017 13:23:04    2012918

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Anyone read Martin McHugh's piece in the programme? In it he states that Sligo came agonisingly close to what probably been a match winning goal in the dying stages? Was the difference not 3 points at that stage? I wonder was Martin basing his piece on highlights from The Sunday Game?"
Martin is still bitter over 1990. Has a huge chip on his shoulder where meath are concerned

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 09/07/2017 13:23:58    2012920

Replying To grahamc9897:  "After the Louth game you made a comment that Graham was as good as anyone out there and so on ! Look you know what I mean and so does everyone else ! You jump on anyone who is critical of him ,this is not at criticism of him its a criticism of you ,you make not like it but there you go ?"
I'd we could have 10/Grahams yesterday we would have won. You may not like that. But that is a fact.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/07/2017 13:25:07    2012922

Replying To SheridansTry:  "Cuteness i agree. The ref blew up alot except for the late foul on keoghan which wasnt given we could have went down a few times and got a few frees. I thought the goal for them was a square ball but not 100% as the fecking pole was in my way in the stand. I think andy didnt want to change players as he was convinced there would be extra time and it would be better to bring them on then and he didnt want to disrupt the team as they were doing so well. I have been to a lot of games and refereeing was up their with the poorest but i was very happy with this meath team they gave 100% thats all we can ask for . No more collapses in the 2nd half. Mcgill is turning out to be a great full back and conlon played a blinder again. Need a good league now and press on ."
Absolutely agree. We are getting there. Next year I expect promotion and see how we get on after that

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/07/2017 13:28:25    2012924

Few silly mistakes and a bit of naivety ultimately cost us but I find it very hard to fault our men. Gave it everything for the 70 mins. Someone mentioned that when we were 0-11 to 0-09 up we could've pushed on but instead Donegal hit 3 on the bounce. Murphy had a poor day from dead balls which kept us alive at times while McGill's block was nothing short of heroic. We hit a few wides very early on which could've changed the final outcome. Don't think there was more than a score between the sides throughout the game. We had 2 other sniffs at goal. A handpass from Keogan (I think) failed to stick and when Menton put us in front late on he really should've slipped Newman in on goal. But look, these are all ifs, buts and maybes.

Question. Why was Donnacha Tobin standing on the sideline for so long waiting to come on? Must've been there at least 5 mins and there were plenty of stoppages in play during that time. Can feel hard done by. Poor against Kildare but I've said on many occasions that he's a half back not a corner back.

All in all, we have improved certain aspects of our game but just aren't getting the results. This will hopefully come in time. Still a few passengers on the panel but with Rooney and Forde to return along with one or two from the juniors and development squads we should continue to build. Also I hope lads who were unable to make the commitment this year can give the time in 2018.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 09/07/2017 13:47:39    2012932

Rome wasn't built in a day. It was great to see the fighting spirit in the team yesterday. At least we didn't go out with a whimper.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 09/07/2017 13:57:23    2012938

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "Few silly mistakes and a bit of naivety ultimately cost us but I find it very hard to fault our men. Gave it everything for the 70 mins. Someone mentioned that when we were 0-11 to 0-09 up we could've pushed on but instead Donegal hit 3 on the bounce. Murphy had a poor day from dead balls which kept us alive at times while McGill's block was nothing short of heroic. We hit a few wides very early on which could've changed the final outcome. Don't think there was more than a score between the sides throughout the game. We had 2 other sniffs at goal. A handpass from Keogan (I think) failed to stick and when Menton put us in front late on he really should've slipped Newman in on goal. But look, these are all ifs, buts and maybes.

Question. Why was Donnacha Tobin standing on the sideline for so long waiting to come on? Must've been there at least 5 mins and there were plenty of stoppages in play during that time. Can feel hard done by. Poor against Kildare but I've said on many occasions that he's a half back not a corner back.

All in all, we have improved certain aspects of our game but just aren't getting the results. This will hopefully come in time. Still a few passengers on the panel but with Rooney and Forde to return along with one or two from the juniors and development squads we should continue to build. Also I hope lads who were unable to make the commitment this year can give the time in 2018."
Who do you think they might be

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 09/07/2017 14:41:06    2012967

Replying To JJ1:  "A good long break now too which will help recharge the batteries"
Don't worry you only slightly behind us in terms of been out

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/07/2017 15:19:13    2012996

Meath were very unlucky yesterday as a bit of inexperience and a few mistakes cost us, but we should great battling qualities and with Rooney and Forde to come back and if we can unearth one or two more we have a makings of a seriously good team, but some players need to look themselves. We need a keeper with more asssurances with kickouts and handling of the ball. G. Reilly needs to live up to his potential, disappointed with COS but I think he needs relax more as he seems to trying to hard and making errors which cause to get frustrated and evidence of this was with Black card. I do think the signs are bright and with a league campaign next go to Division One and build it from there.

Foreveraroyal (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 09/07/2017 15:24:49    2013003

Sounded like a great game, hard luck to ye, but I think Meath football is on the way back. Go on now and get promoted next year. That has to be ye goal

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 09/07/2017 16:57:14    2013127

Replying To JJ1:  "A good long break now too which will help recharge the batteries"
you have a good hammering to look forward to next Sunday then a game in two weeks after and then you have a good rest yourselves.

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 09/07/2017 17:51:38    2013186

so it wasn't just me. andy far from impressed with the ref and what he let murphy away with..

https://soundcloud.com/lmfmradio

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/07/2017 18:14:54    2013213

This was a game I honestly feel we left behind and if we had won I feel it would have brought our lads on a tonne and we would be looking at a game against Galway for a quarter final spot. Another game or two in this championship would have made all the difference but as it is I saw enough last night to make me feel proud of those players as I left Navan and confident that we have a team in the making. McGill, Power, Mention, Conlon, O'Coileann and Burke were the stand out players for me, but the team on the whole put their collective shoulders to the wheel in a big way, yes one or two underperformed but we found other avenues of success and other players stood up last night and showed what it means to them to wear a Meath jersey and what desire they have to succeed. As for the referee well I referred to him in some unsavoury language my opinion hasn't changed today and whilst our mantra has always been never to whinge it's getting to the point that you wonder is there an agenda against the county as some refereeing performances in our games have been poor in my own opinion. Anyway on with the club championship and here's to January and the O'Byrne Cup, cold damp nights in Pairc Tailteann harden the soul for the summer days, sure what else would we be at:-)

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/07/2017 18:51:42    2013258

Replying To ziggy32001:  "so it wasn't just me. andy far from impressed with the ref and what he let murphy away with..

https://soundcloud.com/lmfmradio"
In fairness he doesn't mention the donegal square ball which possibly evened things up a bit

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 09/07/2017 19:01:03    2013264